1. Home
  2. Documents
  3. Manual
  4. Use SeaTable
  5. Versioning & Snapshots
Print

Versioning & Snapshots

It is easy to accidentally delete rows or values from a table. Or you want to compare the current data with an earlier version of a table and jump back to the earlier version if necessary. With SeaTable, restoring deleted data and earlier versions is very easy.

Learn here how to recover data deleted in SeaTable and what other options SeaTable offers you for "time travel".

Restoring individual lines via the recycle bin

The recovery of individual deleted rows is probably the most frequent recovery request. Fortunately, this can be done very quickly via the line recycle bin, which contains all deleted lines of a base.

You can reach the recycle bin by clicking on the versions icon in the upper right corner of the table view. In this menu you will also find other restore options, which are explained below.

In the Deleted Rows table that opens, each entry marks a deleted row in the opened base. You see the deleting user, the deletion date, the table from which the deletion was made and the name of the deleted row. (The name of the row is the value from the first column of the deleted entry). To restore a row, click on Restore. The row is immediately reinserted in the table.

IMPORTANT: The Deleted Rows table only shows the rows that have been deleted as rows. The Deleted Rows table does not show the rows that were deleted together with a table. Deleted lines from tables that were later deleted themselves are a special case. These lines are listed in the Deleted Lines table, but their recovery fails with an error message. To restore such rows, you must use one of the other restore methods.

Recovery via the logs

SeaTable logs all activities in a base in a log. This log can be used to restore not only rows, but also columns, tables and individual values. Restoring from the logs is therefore much more powerful than the recycle bin, but also somewhat more complicated to use.

You open the logs - like the recycle bin - via the versions icon in the upper right corner of the table view.

In the panel that opens, you will find the most recent changes that have been made in Base in chronological order. The most recent change can be found at the top. Each log entry contains:

  • Name of the editor
  • Nature of the change
  • Table concerned
  • Date of the change
  • Description of the change

You can undo changes by executing the restore via the three-dot icon in the log entry. The change is immediately executed in the table and confirmed with a short message.

An undone operation remains in the log. It cannot be restored again. An attempt to do so is acknowledged with an error message.

If work is being done intensively in a table, then the log contains a lot of entries and it can be difficult to find the operation you are looking for. In this case, you can use the browser search to find the operation, e.g. the editor or the change. It may also be necessary to scroll down in the log. This is because the log is not displayed in its full length when it is opened. By scrolling down, older entries of the log are successively reloaded, which can then also be searched via the browser search.

Restoration via snapshots

A snapshot is an image of a base at a certain point in time. SeaTable creates a snapshot every 24 hours for bases that are actively being worked on. All tables, views, statistics and forms that exist at the time of creation are saved in the snapshot.

You can display these snapshots and also restore them. You can call up the existing snapshots either from the table view via the versions icon or via the advanced functions in the Bases library.

IMPORTANT: SeaTable does not store the contents of the recycle bin, log data and snapshots indefinitely. The length of time SeaTable retains this information depends on your subscription. Changes made further in the past than the versioning period of your subscription cannot be undone. Older snapshots will be deleted.