Quickly it can happen that you have accidentally deleted rows or values from a table. Or you want to compare the current data with a previous version of a table and, if necessary, jump back to the previous version. SeaTable makes it easy to recover deleted data and previous versions.
Learn how to recover to SeaTable deleted data and what other options you have SeaTable for "time travel".
Restoring individual lines via the recycle bin
Restoring single deleted lines is probably the most common recovery request. Fortunately, the Rows Trash, which contains all deleted lines of a Base, makes this very fast.
You can access the trash by clicking on the version icon in the upper right corner of the table view. This menu also contains other recovery options, which are explained below.
In the Deleted Rows table that opens, each entry marks a deleted row in the open Base. You see the deleting user, the deletion date, the table from which the deletion was made, and the name of the deleted row. (The name of the row is the value from the first column of the deleted entry). To restore a row, click on Restore. The row is immediately inserted back into the table.
IMPORTANT: The Deleted Rows table shows only those rows that have been deleted as rows. The Deleted Rows table does not display the rows that have been deleted together with a table. A special case are deleted rows from tables that were later deleted themselves. Although these rows are listed in the Deleted Rows table, their recovery fails with an error message. To recover such rows, you must use one of the other recovery methods.
Recovery via the logs
SeaTable logs all activities in a Base in a log. This allows you to recover not only rows, but also columns, tables and individual values. Restoring from the logs is therefore much more powerful than the trash, but also a bit more complicated to use.
You open the logs - like the trash - by clicking on the version icon in the upper right corner of the table view.
In the panel that opens, you will find in chronological order the most recent changes that have been made in Base. The most recent change is at the top. Each log entry contains:
- Name of the agent
- Nature of the change
- Affected table
- Date of the amendment
- Description of the change
You can undo changes by executing the restore via the three-point icon in the log entry. The change is executed immediately in the table and confirmed with a short message.
A cancelled operation remains in the log. It can also not be restored again. An attempt to do so is acknowledged with an error message.
If a table is being worked on intensively, the log contains a lot of entries and it can be difficult to find the operation you are looking for. In this case, you can use the browser search to find the operation, for example, the agent or the change. It may also be necessary to scroll down in the log. This is because the log is not displayed in its full length when you open it. Scrolling down will successively reload older entries in the log, which can then also be searched using the Browser Search.
Recovery via snapshots
A snapshot is an image of a base at a certain point in time. SeaTable takes a Snapshot every 24 hours for active bases. All tables, views, statistics, and forms that exist at the time of creation are stored in the Snapshot.
You can view and restore these snapshots. You can access the existing snapshots either from the table view via the version icon or via the advanced functions in the Bases library.
IMPORTANT: does not SeaTable save the contents of the recycle bin, log data and snapshots for an unlimited time. The length of time SeaTable this information is retained depends on your subscription. Changes that are further in the past than the versioning period of your subscription cannot be reversed. Older snapshots will be deleted.