1. Home
  2. Documents
  3. User Manual
  4. Cooperation
  5. Approvals
Print

Approvals

You have organized your information in a base and want to share it with team members and work on it together? In SeaTable, that's easy with a share. With a share, you can grant access to your data to an individual team member or a group. With tiered sharing permissions and the ability to revoke a share as quickly as you grant it, you can control exactly who can do what in your Bases.

In this post, we'll focus on the sharing options available in SeaTable, and you'll learn everything you need to know about using this feature to collaborate productively with others.

Functionality and types of releases

With a share, you grant another user access to one or parts of your Bases. For the authorized user, the share appears in the Bases library as a separate Base, with the sharing user also mentioned. Depending on the type of share, such an authorized user can only view or also edit data.

A release can take place on the level of a base or a view. If sharing is done at the level of a view, then the authorized user only has access to the data in this view. The rows and columns that are hidden by the view settings, as well as other tables in the base, remain hidden from the authorized user.

Each share - whether for Base or View - is assigned a permission level. The two generic permissions are share with read permissions and share with read and write permissions.

  • Sharing with read rights: Authorized users can view entries and data and change view settings. However, users cannot make any changes to the database with this permission. Table values are locked against modifications.
  • Release with read and write rights: When sharing with read and write permissions, editing restrictions are removed. Users can make changes to the database.

To give you more freedom when sharing a Base than is possible with the two generic permissions, SeaTable also offers custom sharing permissions when sharing Bases. In a custom share permission, you can set different permissions for a base's tables and their views. For example, in a custom share permission, you can specify that it grants read and write permissions to the first table of the base and read-only permissions to the second table of the base. You can also exclude access to the other table altogether.

Each release, regardless of the assigned authorization, can be terminated at any time by the owner or an administrator.

Approvals for Bases

A release of a base - independent of the authorization - can be made to three groups of persons:

  • Release to team members
  • Release for group
  • Release via invitation link

Sharing with a team member or group lets you share the Base within your team. When you share with an invitation link, you can grant access to a Base to people outside your team.

All three releases are done via the release dialog, which you can access via the advanced functions of a Base. To do this, move the mouse pointer to the name of the base to be released and then click on the three-point icon to the right of the name. To open the release dialog box, click on Release.

Create a release of a Base to a team member

To create a share to someone who SeaTable is part of your team, use the Share for users option in the Share dialog.

In the Search user input field, enter the name of the user to whom the release is to be made. You must enter the complete user name or their e-mail address. Then specify the release permission via the drop-down rights. Once you click the Submit button, the selected user will be able to access Base with the granted permission.

To share a Base with multiple users, repeat these steps.

Create a Share of a Base to a Group

You create a share to a group that already exists on your SeaTable team using the Share for Group sharing option in the Share dialog.

Click in the Select group field and a list of all existing groups appears. Select the desired group and then specify the release permission via the drop-down rights. As soon as you click on the Submit button, all group members of the selected group can access Base with the granted permission.

Creating a Base Share via Invitation Link

To share with someone who is not part of your SeaTable team, create an invitation link in the Share dialog using the Invitation link sharing option. This sharing option creates SeaTable a link that you can send to the person you want to share with by e-mail or other means. If the recipient is SeaTable logged in, he or she can access the shared Base by clicking the link. If the recipient does not SeaTable have an account, he or she must first create an SeaTable account. A free account is sufficient for this.

In the Sharing dialog on the left, click Invitation Link. Now define with which rights the person should have access to Base. You can also specify a password and an expiration date for the link. These two protection mechanisms secure the Base against unauthorized access. Without password protection and without automatic expiration every person with knowledge of the link has access to the Base without time limit. Click on Create to generate the link.

You can create multiple invitation links with different permissions and protection settings. To do so, change the settings and click the Create button again. Another link will appear in the list of invitation links below the button.

To the right of the created invitation link two icons appear when you move the mouse pointer over the link. With the first icon you copy the link to the clipboard. From there you can paste the link into an e-mail or chat system. With the second icon you delete a link.

Manage shares

The administration of shares - like their creation - is done via the share dialog, which can be reached via the three-point icon to the right of the base name. Under the three share options in the share dialog the existing shares or invitation links are displayed.

An existing share to a user or group can be extended or restricted at any time by changing the share permission. A share can be terminated by clicking on the cross icon to the right of the user/group name. All changes are effective immediately.

For an existing invitation link, the password protection and expiration date cannot be changed. Using the icons to the right of the invitation URL, an invitation link can be copied to the clipboard or deleted.

Releases for views

A view can be released to two groups of people:

  • Release to team members
  • Release for group

(As of March 23, 2021, sharing a view with anyone outside the team is not possible).

Create a view share with a team member

You create a share to a person who is part of your team in SeaTable using the advanced options of a view. Click the three-dot icon to the right of the view name, and then click Share View. On the left side of the Share View drop-down list, Sharing with Users is automatically selected.

In the Search user input field, enter the name of the user to whom the release is to be made. You must enter the complete user name or their e-mail address. Then specify the release permission via the drop-down rights. The share name is an optional field. Here you can enter a name that will be used in the authorized user's Bases library to describe the share. Once you click the Submit button, the selected user will be able to access the view with the granted permission. The shared view will appear as a Base to the authorized user.

To share a Base with multiple users, repeat these steps.

Create a view share to a group

To create a share to a group that already exists in your SeaTable team, use a view's advanced options. Click the three-dot icon to the right of the view name, then click Share View. For a group share, you must then select Share with Group in the Share View dialog on the left.

Click in the Select group field and a list of all existing groups appears. Select the desired group and then specify the share permission via the drop-down rights. The share name is an optional field. Here you can enter a name that will be used in the authorized user's Bases library to describe the share. Once you click the Submit button, all group members of the selected group will be able to access the Base with the granted permission.

Was this article helpful Yeah, right! No 1 of 1 users found this article helpful.