1. Home
  2. Documents
  3. Manual
  4. Cooperation
  5. Groups
Print

Groups

Groups are of particular importance for cooperation. They bring team members together, allow the easy exchange of data in common bases, the so-called group bases, and move user-managing functions directly into the team. The larger your team, the more you will use groups.

Do you want to use groups for cooperation in your team? This article explains everything you need to know.

Group roles

A SeaTable group can have an unlimited number of group members. However, the group members must be part of your team.

Each group member has one of the three roles: Owner, Administrator or Member. The user who creates a group is the group owner. He can add further group members and group administrators and change the permissions afterwards. A group always has only one owner, but ownership can be transferred. A group administrator has extensive management possibilities for the group and can appoint further administrators. However, a group administrator cannot delete a group or transfer ownership.

ActionOwnerAdministratorMember
Rename groupYesYesNo
Transfer groupYesNoNo
Delete groupYesNoNo
Leave groupNoYesYes
Manage membersYesYesNo
Manage Recycle BinYesYesNo

Each group member has write access to all group bases, i.e. the bases that belong to a group. A member can adjust tables in a group base and create, change and delete entries. The access right of a group member also includes the right to create web forms and install plugins.

ActionOwnerAdministratorMember
Create group baseYesYesNo
Rename group baseYesYesNo
Copy group baseYesYesYes
Export group baseYesYesYes
Delete group baseYesYesNo
Create user/group sharesYesYesNo
Create invitation linkYesYesNo
Create external linksYesYesNo
Restore snapshotYesYesYes

Group creation

You create a group via the New Group button in the Bases library. Enter a descriptive name for the group and confirm the creation of the group with Submit. The created group is then created and displayed among the existing groups.

It is currently not possible to change the position of the groups in the Bases Library (as of 13 September 2020).

Group management

Groups are managed via the triangle icon to the right of the group name. Only the owner and the administrators of groups have the necessary permissions for this. The administration includes:

  • Rename group
  • Manage group members
  • Transfer group
  • Delete group

Rename group

Group owners and administrators can rename groups. Click on the triangle icon to the right of the group name. The Rename option now appears in the menu. Select this to carry out the renaming.

Transfer group

Group owners can transfer groups to other group members, i.e. transfer ownership of the group to another user. Click on the triangle icon to the right of the group name and select Transfer in the menu that opens. In the Transfer Group dialogue that opens, enter the name of the group member to whom the transfer is to be made. Confirm the transfer by clicking on Send.

Delete group

You can delete groups of which you are the owner or administrator and which do not contain any bases. Click on the triangle icon to the right of the group name and select Delete Group in the menu that opens. To delete the group permanently, confirm the security prompt.

Manage group members

The owner and administrator can add and remove members from a group and change the permissions of existing group members. Click on the triangle icon to the right of the group name. The Manage Members option appears in the menu. The Manage Group Members pop-up that opens shows the current members and their roles.

To change a group member's permissions, click on the pencil icon to the right of their current role and select the new role in the drop-down that opens. To remove a member from a group, click on the cross icon to the far right of the name.

You add a new member via the input field Search user. Enter the name of the user who is to be added to the group. SeaTable has an auto-complete function, i.e. users matching your input are displayed. Only users who are part of your team can be added to a group.

Group base management

Add group base

Owners and administrators can create so-called group bases in a group. All group members have read and write access to such a base. Creating a group base is done in the same way as creating a personal base. For more information on creating bases, see the article Bases in the Data Management section.

Manage group bases

Owners and administrators can manage group bases without restrictions - like personal bases - i.e. they can rename, export, share and delete group bases. For more information on managing bases, see the article Bases in the Data Management section. Group members have limited management options for group bases.