The SeaTable no-code platform

The SeaTable no-code platform

What is low-code or no-code?

No-code / low-code are comparatively new development methods that enable people to develop their own applications or processes. As the names suggest, the core idea is that this should also be possible for people with little or no programming experience and that this should only take a fraction of the usual time.

With no-code or low-code, the platform provides the necessary working environment for the technically interested user. There, one can work on a solution alone or in a team. This approach is completely at odds with traditional software development, which is often time-consuming and cost-intensive in comparison.

Low-code and no-code can also be seen as the next logical step in the development of programming techniques. While a developer used to develop the interface, the logics, the database structures, etc. himself with the help of a programming language, developer frameworks such as Bootstrap or Laravel have already taken over many of these tasks. No-code / low-code goes one step further and reduces the development effort again significantly by allowing the user to fully concentrate on problem solving and the processes to be developed.

Is no-code better than low-code?

Not at all. Both approaches have their raison d'être. While no-code is about not really needing any programming knowledge, low-code allows you to partially programme your own components in order to get more building blocks for your own solution. Both can have their advantages and disadvantages. Often a clear assignment is not possible or not wanted. In the following, I will therefore only speak of no-code.

Theessence of both approaches is that in a fast-moving age with frequently changing requirements, people should have the opportunity to develop applications together in the shortest possible time and without a great deal of prior knowledge, which should make their lives easier.

4 important features of No-Code

The market research institute Forrester Research names four important characteristics that a no-code platform must fulfil:

  1. visual model-based development method for data models, business logic or user interfaces. Whereas with classical programming languages, for example, you start from scratch, with no-code you don't have to think about it.
  2. Reusability through the use of ready-made templates, widgets or plug-ins and components is another feature of low-code. These are available in the form of building blocks and can be used directly.
  3. Theentire life cycle should be covered, i.e. from development and deployment to the subsequent expansion of the application.
  4. The last feature is the automatic provision and management of the application via cloud or directly in the form of an on-premises system. Instead of having to set up a new server for each application, the applications run directly on the respective platform.

„No code“ isn’t just about helping non-coders build things.
It’s also about helping coders build things.

Found on Twitter: by Sahil Lavingia, founder of Gumroad

The advantages of a no-code platform

This brings us to the central advantages of no-code platforms. These are ...

  • Quickly create and deploy applications
  • Can be implemented by programming laymen or technically interested people
  • cross-team collaboration
  • easy integration with other platforms through apis
  • focus on problem solving, less on design and surfaces

No-Code is universally applicable

No-code is not limited to one industry. Much suggests that there is a need for this kind of development and problem solving in every area of life, in every company and in every person who works with data on a computer in some way.

SeaTable is a no-code platform

SeaTable fulfils all four characteristics of Forrester Research. SeaTable is actually not clearly categorised as low-code or no-code either. Many processes and workflows can only be configured visually, which speaks more for a no-code approach. At the same time, SeaTable allows the execution of self-written Javascript and Python scripts, which are either time-controlled or executed manually. This corresponds to low-code.

No matter what problem you have. Give SeaTable a try. You will be amazed at how easy it is to develop your own data structures, applications and workflows with it.

Christoph Dyllick-Brenzinger
Christoph is the founder and technical managing director of SeaTable GmbH. He is responsible for all internal IT at SeaTable and loves new and exciting challenges. In his free time, he enjoys playing tennis, exploring foreign cities with his family or playing the occasional computer game.

Get regular productivity tips on SeaTable

Hidden
This field is for validation and should not be changed.

Die No-Code Plattform SeaTable

Die No-Code Plattform SeaTable

Was ist Low-Code bzw. No-Code?

No-Code / Low-Code sind vergleichsweise neue Entwicklungsmethoden, die es Menschen ermöglichen soll ihre eigenen Anwendungen oder Prozesse zu entwickeln. Wie die Namen schon vermuten lassen, geht es im Kern darum, dass dies auch für Menschen mit wenig oder keiner Programmiererfahrungen möglich sein soll und dies auch nur einen Bruchteil der sonst üblichen Zeit benötigt wird.

Bei No-Code bzw. Low-code liefert die Plattform die notwendige Arbeitsumgebung für den technisch interessierten Anwender. Dort kann man alleine oder im Team an einer Lösungen arbeiten. Dieser Ansatz steht ganz im Widerspruch zur klassische Softwarentwicklung, die im Vergleich dazu oft zeit- und kostenintensiv ist.

Man kann Low-Code und No-Code auch als den logisch nächst Schritt in der Entwicklung von Progammiertechniken betrachten. Während früher ein Entwickler mit Hilfe einer Programmiersprachen sowohl die Oberfläche, die Logiken, die Datenbankstrukturen etc. alles selbst entwickelt hat, haben Entwicklerframeworks wie z.B. Bootstrap oder Laravel schon viele dieser Aufgaben abgenommen. No-Code / Low-Code geht noch einen Schritt weiter und reduziert den Entwicklungsaufwand nochmal deutlich, indem der Anwender sich voll und ganz auf die Problemlösung und die zu entwickelten Prozesse konzentrieren kann.

Ist no-code besser als low-code?

Keinesfalls. Beide Ansätze haben ihre Daseinsberechtigung. Während es bei No-Code darum geht, wirklich keine Prgorammierkenntnisse zu benötigen, erlaubt Low-Code partiell eigene Komponenten zu programmieren, um so weitere Bausteine für die eigene Lösung zu bekommen. Beides kann seine Vor- und Nachteile haben. Häufig ist sowieso eine eindeutige Zuordnung nicht möglich bzw. nicht gewollt. Im Folgenden werde ich deshalb nur noch von No-Code sprechen.

Im Kern geht es bei beiden Ansätzen darum: In einer schnelllebigen Zeit mit häufig wechselnden Anforderungen, sollen Menschen die Möglichkeit bekommen, gemeinsam in kürzester Zeit und ohne großes Vorwissen, Applikationen zu entwicklen, die Ihnen das Leben erleichtern sollen.

4 wichtige Merkmale von No-Code

Das Marktforschungsinstitut Forrester Research nennt vier wichtige Merkmale, die eine no-code Plattform erfüllen muss:

  1. visuelle modellbasierte Entwicklungsmethode für datenmodeele, geschäftslogik oder benutzeroberflächen. Während man also z.b. bei klassischen Programmiersprachen quasi auf der grünen Wiese anfängt, muss man bei no-code darüber nicht nachdenken.
  2. Wiederverwendbarkeit durch die Nutzung von fertigen Vorlagen, Widgets oder Plugins und Komponenten ist eine weiters Merkmal von Low-Code. Diese stehen durch in Form von Bausteinen zur Verfügung und können direkt eingesetzt werden.
  3. Gesamter Lebenszyklus soll abgedeckt werden: also von der Entwicklung, bereitsetllung bis zur späteren Erweiterung der Applikation
  4. Das letzte Merkmal ist die automatische Bereitstellung und Verwaltung der Anwendung per Cloud oder direkt in Form eines On-Premises Systems. Anstatt für jede Applikation einen neuen Server aufsetzen zu müssen, laufen die Applikationen direkt auf der jeweiligen Plattform.

„No code“ isn’t just about helping non-coders build things.
It’s also about helping coders build things.

Gefunden auf Twitter: von Sahil Lavingia, dem Gründer von Gumroad

Die Vorteile einer No-Code Plattformen

Damit kommen wir zu den zentralen Vorteilen von No-Code Plattformen. Dies sind …

  • schnelles erstellen und beretstellen von anwendungen
  • durch Programmierlaien oder technisch interesserte abbildbar
  • teamübergreifende zusammenarbeit
  • einfache integration mit anderen plattformen durch apis
  • fokus auf problemlösung, weniger auf design und oberflächen

No-Code ist universel einsetzbar

No-Code ist nicht auf eine Branche beschränkt. Viel lässt sich vermuten, dass es in jedem Lebensbereich, in jeden Unternehmen und bei jedem Menschen, der irgendwie mit Daten am Computer arbeitet den Bedarf für diese Art der Entwicklung und Problemlösung.

SeaTable ist eine No-Code Plattform

SeaTable erfüllt alle vier Merkmale von Forrester Research. Auch SeaTable ist eigentlich nicht eindeutig als Low-Code oder No-Code zuzuordnen. Viele Prozesse und Workflow lassen sich nur ein visuell konfigurieren, was eher für eine No-Code Ansatz spricht. Gleichzeitig erlaubt SeaTable die Ausführung von selbstgeschriebenen Javascript und Python-Scripten, welche man entweder zeitgesteuert und manuell ausführt. Dies entspricht Low-code.

Egal, welches Problem Sie haben. Probieren Sie SeaTable aus. Sie werden begeistert sein, wie einfach es ist, damit eigene Datenstrukturen, Anwendungen und Workflows zu entwickeln.

Christoph Dyllick-Brenzinger
Christoph ist Gründer und technischer Geschäftsführer der SeaTable GmbH. Er ist für die gesamte interne IT bei SeaTable verantwortlich und liebt neue und spannende Herausforderungen. In seiner Freizeit spielt er gerne Tennis, erkundet mit seiner Familie fremde Städte oder daddelt auch ab und zu auch mal das ein oder andere Computerspiel.

Erhalten Sie regelmäßige Produktivitätstips zu SeaTable

Hidden
Dieses Feld dient zur Validierung und sollte nicht verändert werden.