How to Install SeaTable Enterprise Edition on Ubuntu Server 20.04 LTS

Thanks to Docker, the installation of SeaTable Enterprise Edition is very simple and can be done in just a few moments. Ubuntu Server as a widely used and well-documented Linux operating system is an excellent basis for SeaTable. If you already have an Ubuntu server, you can learn how to install SeaTable on it in 10 minutes here.

Requirements

In order for SeaTable to be set up as smoothly as described here, a few prerequisites must be met. These are:

  • VServer / Dedicated Server with 4 cores, 8GB RAM and around 10GB memory for the Ubuntu operating system, SeaTable and other requirements.
  • Root access to the server (via SSH or console)
  • Subdomain that refers to the IP address of the server via A-record (IPv4) or AAAA-record (IPv6).
  • Server accessible on port 80 and 443 via the subdomain
  • No other service listens on port 80 and 443

Of course, you should plan for more than the above-mentioned hard disk space in order to be able to store your own data on the data carrier in addition to the operating system and SeaTable. In particular, if you intend to organise files in SeaTable, you should plan very generously for additional storage space.

It is not a prerequisite, but helpful, if the server can be reached via a static IPv4 address. This maximises the accessibility of the server while on the move. In Europe, there are still mobile networks that do not yet support IPv6. Your SeaTable server cannot be reached via such a network if it does not have an IPv4 address.

In case port 80 and/or 443 are already occupied on your server, you will find everything you need to know for the installation in your situation in the article Installing SeaTable Enterprise on your own server behind a web server.

You are ready? Let's go! We assume that you have a root shell open on your server.

Preparation

First we update the system to have all packages up to date:

apt update
apt upgrade -y

Of course, these and all following commands must be executed with root rights unless otherwise specified.

SeaTable uses docker-compose and you need to install this package. Since it is available via the Ubuntu package sources, the command is sufficient:

apt install docker-compose -y

The packages docker.io and containerd as well as numerous Python3 libraries are part of the dependencies of docker-compose. These are therefore installed at the same time. The system is ready for SeaTable!

Download SeaTable Enterprise

The Docker image of SeaTable Enterprise Edition is located in a repository on Docker Hub. Use the following command to start the download of the SeaTable image:

docker pull seatable/seatable-ee:latest

Let's move on to the only somewhat more difficult topic in setting up SeaTable. With the extended explanations, however, this step also becomes easily doable.

Customization of the docker-compose.yml

To introduce this section, a little basic knowledge about the installation of SeaTable: SeaTable provides its services via several Docker containers. Besides the SeaTable container itself, in which the SeaTable server runs, there are three other containers involved. Specifically, these are the database MariaDB, the caching service Memcached and the dictionary server redis.

The file docker-compose.yml, which will be discussed in a moment, is the recipe that Docker uses for the installation and configuration of the SeaTable and the other containers. It contains central security settings (e.g. the database password) and allows you to adapt the installation to your own wishes and needs (e.g. SSL/TLS configuration).

First create the directory seatable in /opt. Since the installation of containerd, the directory /opt already contains the directory with the same name. Then download the docker-compose.yml into this directory and open the file with a text editor. The code example below describes the procedure in detail. We use the text editor nano to edit the docker-compose.yml. Logically, however, vim or any other text editor will also work.

mkdir /opt/seatable
cd /opt/seatable
wget -O "docker-compose.yml" "https://manual.seatable.io/docker/Enterprise-Edition/docker-compose.yml"
nano docker-compose.yml

This is what the YAML file looks like after the download:
docker-compose.yml file

At first glance, you can see the four containers that Docker sets up when the recipe is executed: db, memcached, redis and seatable. For each container, the image to be used ("image") and the container name ("container_name") are declared. The container name is the name that can later be used to manage the container via Docker Console.

In addition, each container has a few individual settings, some of which need your attention now.

In the container db you have to change the database password. Replace "YOUR_PASSWORD" with a multi-digit, alphanumeric password. In addition, you can adjust the path under which the directory /opt/seatable/mysql-data/ is made available in the container seatable-mysql. By default, this is the path /var/lib/mysql. This is not necessary.

The memcached container and the redis container do not require any adjustments. If you are already running memcached or redis, you can remove these two containers from the Compose file. However, in order for SeaTable to run, you will have to make manual adjustments in the configuration files later.

The most extensive adjustments must be made in the seatable container: First of all, the MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD must be entered there. Otherwise SeaTable cannot communicate with the database. So enter the password specified above for the container db in "DB_ROOT_PASSWD".

Then it is a matter of deciding whether Let's Encrypt should apply for an SSL certificate for you and include it in the configuration of the web server. If you want to do this - which is probably the recommendation for most users - then change the value of the SEATABLE_SERVER_LETSENCRYPT key to "True" and enter the subdomain you are using for SEATABLE_SERVER_HOSTNAME. The Certbot from Let's Encrypt will then request an SSL certificate as part of the setup and take it into account in the configuration of the web server.

You can leave the time zone set to Etc/UTC for Central Europe. If you are outside Central Europe, use the usual time zone codes.

Initialisation of the database

After the YAML file has been adapted to your needs, the next step is to initialise the database. To do this, enter the following commands:

cd /opt/seatable
docker-compose up

The docker-compose command executes the recipe contained in the YAML file: Several Docker images are downloaded from Docker Hub and extracted. First MariaDB, then Memcached, then redis and finally SeaTable itself - in the order prescribed in the docker-compose.yml. After the download, the database container seatable-mysql starts. You can follow the activities on the screen (see below). When the seatable container finally takes over and the message "This is an idle script (infinite loop) to keep container running." appears on the screen, you can cancel the process with the key combination CTRL + C.

Has this worked so far? Then you are very close to your own self-hosted SeaTable instance! If not, please see the troubleshooting tips at the end of this article.

Launch of SeaTable

Execute the docker-compose.yml again. Unlike in the previous step, docker-compose is now executed in the background or "detached". After this, the SeaTable server can also be started in the Docker container seatable. Finally, you only need to create an admin user. Your SeaTable server is then ready for its tasks!

docker-compose up -d
docker exec -d seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh start
docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh superuser

After the last command, you will be asked to enter an email address and a password. Bravo, you have created the first user in your SeaTable on-premises system.

Commissioning

Now call up the URL that you specified in the docker-compose.yml under SEATABLE_SERVER_HOSTNAME. You will land on the login page of your SeaTable server. Installation successful!

If you have voted for the use of Let's Encrypt in the docker-compose.yml, then your request should be redirected directly to https and thus the communication with your server should be encrypted. If not, then you should now insert your own SSL certificate. Copy the certificate into the folder /opt/seatable/ssl/ and adjust the configuration of the web server nginx. You also have to change the addresses from http to https in the configuration files ccnet.conf, dtable_web_seetings.py and the dtable_server_config.json. After that, nginx, SeaTable and Memcached have to be restarted. You do this with these three commands:

docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh restart
docker restart seatable-memcached
docker exec -it seatable /usr/sbin/nginx -s reload

You can find out more about integrating your own SSL certificate in the SeaTable manual.

Users menu in SeaTable's System Administration

Activation of the SeaTable licence

You can use SeaTable Enterprise Edition with all functions without a paid licence with up to three users - privately as well as commercially and also permanently. For this reason, you do not need a licence to get started.

However, if you want to create more than three users in SeaTable, SeaTable will refuse to do so. You can obtain a licence from our sales department. You can find more information about the prices of SeaTable Enterprise on our pricing page.

To activate the licence, save the licence file, a TXT file, in the folder /opt/seatable/seatable-data/seatable and restart SeaTable:

docker exec -d seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh restart

The additional users are then immediately available and displayed in the control panel.

Troubleshooting

If something went wrong during the installation, simply delete the /opt/seatable directory and start again. But be careful: The data stored in SeaTable will be lost.

If you have forgotten your administrator's password, execute the command

docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh superuser

again. The command creates another user with admin rights. If the command produces an error, then your SeaTable licence does not allow the creation of further users. (This also applies to the test mode with a maximum of three users.) In this case, you must set a user to inactive in the MySQL database and then execute the command again.

Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger
Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger is the founder and managing director of SeaTable. He is the strategic mastermind of SeaTable and the master of numbers. He loves his fiancée's cookies and a good bike ride.

Get regular productivity tips on SeaTable

Hidden
This field is for validation and should not be changed.

SeaTable Enterprise Edition unter Ubuntu Server 20.04 LTS installieren

Dank Docker ist die Installation von SeaTable Enterprise Edition ganz einfach und in wenigen Augenblicken gemacht. Ubuntu Server als weitverbreitetes und gut dokumentiertes Linux Betriebssystem bietet sich als Basis für SeaTable hervorragend an. Wenn Sie bereits einen Ubuntu Server haben, dann erfahren Sie hier, wie Sie in 10 Minuten auf diesem SeaTable installieren.

Voraussetzungen

Damit die Einrichtung von SeaTable so problemlos durchläuft wie hier beschrieben, müssen einige Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein. Dies sind:

  • VServer / Dedicated Server mit 4 Kernen, 8GB RAM und rund 10GB Speicher für das Ubuntu Betriebssystem, SeaTable und weitere Voraussetzungen
  • Root Zugriff auf den Server (per SSH oder Konsole)
  • Subdomain, die per A-Record (IPv4) oder AAAA-Record (IPv6) auf die IP-Adresse des Servers verweist
  • Server auf Port 80 und 443 über die Subdomain erreichbar
  • Kein anderer Dienst hört auf Port 80 und 443

Natürlich sollten Sie mehr als den oben angegebenen Festplattenspeicher einplanen, um auf dem Datenträger neben Betriebssystem und SeaTable auch noch Ihre eigenen Daten ablegen zu können. Insbesondere wenn Sie beabsichtigen, in SeaTable auch Dateien zu organisieren, dann sollten Sie sehr großzügig weiteren Speicherplatz einplanen.

Keine Voraussetzung, aber hilfreich, ist es, wenn der Server über eine statische IPv4-Adresse erreichbar ist. Damit maximieren Sie die Erreichbarkeit des Servers von unterwegs. In Europa gibt es noch Mobilfunknetze, die noch kein IPv6 beherrschen. Über ein solches Netz ist Ihr SeaTable Server nicht erreichbar, wenn er keine IPv4-Adresse hat.

Für den Fall, dass auf Ihrem Server bereits Port 80 und/oder 443 belegt sind, finden Sie im Beitrag SeaTable Enterprise auf dem eigenen Server hinter einem Webserver installieren alles was Sie für die Installation in Ihrer Situation wissen müssen.

Sie sind bereit? Los geht’s! Wir gehen davon aus, dass Sie eine Root Shell auf Ihrem Server offen haben.

Vorbereitung

Zunächst aktualisieren wir das System, um alle Pakete auf dem neusten Stand zu haben:

apt update
apt upgrade -y

Natürlich müssen diese und alle folgenden Befehle mit Root-Rechten ausgeführt werden, wenn nicht anders angegeben.

SeaTable verwendet docker-compose und dieses Paket müssen Sie installieren. Da es über die Ubuntu-Paketquellen verfügbar ist, reicht der Befehl:

apt install docker-compose -y

Die Pakete docker.io und containerd sowie zahlreiche Python3 Bibliotheken gehören zu den Abhängigkeiten von docker-compose. Diese werden daher gleich mitinstalliert. Das System ist bereit für SeaTable!

Download von SeaTable Enterprise

Das Docker Image von SeaTable Enterprise Edition befindet sich in einem Repository auf Docker Hub. Mit dem folgenden Befehl starten Sie den Download des SeaTable Images:

docker pull seatable/seatable-ee:latest

Kommen wir zum einzigen etwas schwierigeren Thema bei der Einrichtung von SeaTable. Mit den erweiterten Erläuterungen wird aber auch dieser Schritt gut machbar.

Individualisierung der docker-compose.yml

Zur Einleitung dieses Abschnitts ein bisschen Grundlagenwissen zur Installation von SeaTable: SeaTable stellt seine Dienste über mehrere Docker Container bereit. Neben dem SeaTable Container selbst, in dem der SeaTable Server läuft, sind noch drei weitere Container im Spiel. Konkret sind das die Datenbank MariaDB, der Caching Dienst Memcached und der Dictionary Server redis.

Die Datei docker-compose.yml, um die es gleich gehen wird, ist das Rezept, das Docker für die Installation und Konfiguration des SeaTable und der anderen Container verwendet. Es beinhaltet zentrale Sicherheitseinstellungen (z.B. das Datenbankpasswort) und erlaubt die Anpassung der Installation an eigene Wünsche und Bedürfnisse (z.B. SSL/TLS-Konfiguration).

Legen Sie zunächst in /opt das Verzeichnis seatable an. Im Verzeichnis /opt befindet sich seit der Installation von containerd bereits das gleichnamige Verzeichnis. Dann laden Sie die docker-compose.yml in dieses Verzeichnis runter und öffnen die Datei mit einem Texteditor. Das Code-Beispiel unten beschreibt das Vorgehen im Detail. Wir verwenden für die Bearbeitung der docker-compose.yml den Texteditor nano. Logischerweise geht aber auch vim oder jeder anderer Texteditor.

mkdir /opt/seatable
cd /opt/seatable
wget -O "docker-compose.yml" "https://manual.seatable.io/docker/Enterprise-Edition/docker-compose.yml"
nano docker-compose.yml

So sieht die YAML-Datei nach dem Download aus:
docker-compose.yml file

Auf den ersten Blick sieht man die vier Container, die Docker bei Ausführung des Rezepts einrichtet: db, memcached, redis und seatable. Für jeden Container wird das zu verwendende Image (“image”) und die Bezeichnung des Containers (“container_name”) deklariert. Die Container-Bezeichnung ist der Name, über den sich später der Container per Docker Console verwalten lässt.

Darüber hinaus hat jeder Container ein paar individuelle Einstellungen, von denen manche nun Ihre Aufmerksamkeit brauchen.

Im Container db müssen Sie das Datenbank Passwort verändern. Ersetzen Sie “YOUR_PASSWORD” durch ein mehrstelliges, alphanumerisches Passwort. Darüber hinaus können Sie den Pfad, unter dem das Verzeichnis /opt/seatable/mysql-data/ im Container seatable-mysql verfügbar gemacht wird, anpassen. Im Standard ist dies der Pfad /var/lib/mysql. Notwendig ist dies nicht.

Der Container memcached und der Container redis benötigen keine Anpassungen. Wenn Sie memcached oder redis bereits betreiben, dann können Sie diese beiden Container aus der Compose-Datei entfernen. Damit SeaTable lauffähig ist, müssen Sie aber später in den Konfigurationsdateien manuelle Anpassungen vornehmen.

Im Container seatable sind die umfangreichsten Anpassungen vorzunehmen: Dort muss zunächst einmal das MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD eingetragen werden. Ansonsten kann SeaTable nicht mit der Datenbank kommunizieren. Tragen Sie also bei “DB_ROOT_PASSWD” das oben für den Container db spezifizierte Passwort ein.

Dann heißt es, die Entscheidung zu treffen, ob Let’s Encrypt für Sie ein SSL-Zertifikat beantragen und in die Konfiguration des Webservers einbinden soll. Wenn Sie dies wollen – was vermutlich für die meisten Benutzer die Empfehlung ist -, dann ändern Sie den Wert des Schlüssels SEATABLE_SERVER_LETSENCRYPT auf “True” und geben Sie bei SEATABLE_SERVER_HOSTNAME die von Ihnen verwendete Subdomain ein. Der Certbot von Let’s Encrypt wird dann im Rahmen der Einrichtung ein SSL-Zertifikat beantragen und in der Konfiguration des Webservers berücksichtigen.

Die Zeitzone können Sie auf Etc/UTC für Zentraleuropa belassen. Wenn Sie außerhalb Zentraleuropas sind, dann nutzen Sie die gewöhnlichen Zeitzonencodes.

Initialisierung der Datenbank

Nachdem die YAML-Datei auf Ihre Bedürfnisse angepasst wurde, wird nun im nächsten Schritt die Datenbank initialisiert. Dazu geben Sie folgende Befehle ein:

cd /opt/seatable
docker-compose up

Durch den docker-compose Befehl wird das in der YAML-Datei enthaltene Rezept ausgeführt: Es werden mehrere Docker Images von Docker Hub heruntergeladen und extrahiert. Zunächst MariaDB, dann Memcached, darauf redis und abschließend SeaTable selbst – also in der in der docker-compose.yml vorgeschriebenen Reihenfolge. Nach dem Download startet der Datenbank-Container seatable-mysql. Sie können die Aktivitäten auf dem Bildschirm verfolgen (siehe unten). Wenn schließlich der seatable Container übernimmt und die Meldung “This is an idle script (infinite loop) to keep container running.” auf dem Bildschirm erscheint, dann können Sie mit der Tastenkombination CTRL + C den Prozess abbrechen.

Hat dies soweit geklappt? Dann sind Sie Ihrer eigenen, selbstgehosteten SeaTable Instanz ganz nah! Wenn nicht, sehen Sie bitte am Endes Artikels in den Troubleshooting Hinweisen nach.

Start von SeaTable

Führen Sie die docker-compose.yml nochmals aus. Anders als im Schritt davor wird docker-compose nun aber im Hintergrund bzw. “detached” ausgeführt. Im Anschluss daran lässt sich auch der SeaTable Server im Docker Container seatable starten. Zum Abschluss muss nur noch ein Adminbenutzer angelegt werden. Ihr SeaTable Server ist dann für seine Aufgaben bereit!

docker-compose up -d
docker exec -d seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh start
docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh superuser

Nach dem letzten Befehl werden Sie aufgefordert, eine E-Mail-Adresse und ein Passwort zu vergeben. Bravo, Sie haben in Ihrem SeaTable on-premises System den ersten Benutzer angelegt.

Inbetriebnahme

Rufen Sie nun die URL auf, die Sie in der docker-compose.yml unter SEATABLE_SERVER_HOSTNAME angegeben haben. Sie landen auf der Login-Seite Ihres SeaTable Servers. Installation erfolgreich!

Wenn Sie in der docker-compose.yml für die Nutzung von Let’s Encrypt votiert haben, dann sollte Ihre Anfrage direkt auf https umgeleitet werden und somit die Kommunikation mit Ihrem Server verschlüsselt erfolgen. Wenn nicht, dann sollten Sie nun Ihr eigenes SSL-Zertifikat einfügen. Kopieren Sie das Zertifikat in den Ordner /opt/seatable/ssl/ und passen Sie die Konfiguration des Webservers nginx an. Ebenfalls müssen Sie in den Konfigurationsdateien ccnet.conf, dtable_web_seetings.py und der dtable_server_config.json die Adressen von http auf https umstellen. Danach müssen nginx, SeaTable und Memcached neu gestartet werden. Mit diesen drei Befehlen tun Sie dies:

docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh restart
docker restart seatable-memcached
docker exec -it seatable /usr/sbin/nginx -s reload

Mehr zur Integration eines eigenen SSL-Zertifikats finden Sie im SeaTable Manual.

Users menu in SeaTable's System Administration

Aktivierung der SeaTable Lizenz

Sie können SeaTable Enterprise Edition mit allen Funktionen ohne kostenpflichtige Lizenz mit bis zu drei Benutzern benutzen – privat wie gewerblich und auch dauerhaft. Aus diesem Grund benötigen Sie für die Inbetriebnahme keine Lizenz.

Wenn Sie jedoch mehr als drei Benutzer in SeaTable anlegen wollen, dann wird sich SeaTable dem verweigern. Eine Lizenz erhalten Sie über unseren Vertrieb. Mehr Informationen zu den Preisen von SeaTable Enterprise finden Sie auf unserer Preisseite.

Um die Lizenz zu aktivieren, speichern Sie die Lizenzdatei, eine TXT-Datei, im Ordner /opt/seatable/seatable-data/seatable und starten Sie SeaTable neu:

docker exec -d seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh restart

Die zusätzlichen Benutzer stehen dann sofort zur Verfügung und werden in der Systemsteuerung angezeigt.

Troubleshooting

Falls bei der Installation irgendetwas schief gegangen ist, dann löschen Sie einfach das Verzeichnis /opt/seatable und fangen Sie von vorne an. Aber Vorsicht: Die in SeaTable gespeicherten Daten gehen dabei verloren.

Wenn Sie das Passwort Ihres Administrators vergessen haben, dann führen Sie den Befehl

docker exec -it seatable /shared/seatable/scripts/seatable.sh superuser

einfach erneut aus. Der Befehl legt einen weiteren Benutzer mit Admin-Rechten an. Wenn der Befehl einen Fehler produziert, dann erlaubt Ihre SeaTable Lizenz die Anlage weiterer Benutzer nicht. (Dies gilt auch für den Testbetrieb mit maximal drei Nutzern.) In diesem Fall müssen Sie in der MySQL Datenbank einen Benutzer auf inaktiv setzen und dann den Befehl erneut ausführen.