New team administration

Easier management of your team - the new team administration

With the upgrade of SeaTable Cloud to version 3.0, Cloud subscribers benefit not only from the many new and improved functions of the major release, but also from a new team management that simplifies the management of small and especially larger teams. New functions have been added, existing functions have been expanded and a new design creates more clarity and user-friendliness. We are pleased to present the new team management and the most important changes in this article.

Initial situation and challenges

The "old" team management of SeaTable Cloud is a module of SeaTable Server. (SeaTable Server is the software behind SeaTable Cloud, which is also available for installation on your own server). As such, it provides all the necessary management functions for teams to use within an organisation (private cloud). However, it does not offer subscription management functions or integration with a payment service provider.

"Old" team administration

These functions, which are necessary for the operation of a solution with a general user group (public cloud), were individually supplemented for SeaTable Cloud. In terms of user experience, team management fell short of usual standards despite the comparatively high technical complexity. Expanding a team, for example, first required adding one or more users to the subscription before additional users could then be registered in another menu. Numerous support requests including the associated frustration due to this unusual procedure were the result.

Due to the separation of user and subscription administration as well as billing, there were also high hurdles for the implementation of extended administrative functions. For example, numerous team admins asked to merge two existing teams. The same applies to extended payment methods. Payment by invoice could only be implemented on the basis of an individual request and with a disproportionate amount of manual effort on the customer and provider side.

These issues were addressed in the redevelopment of the team management. With friends we can say: they have been solved! And this is what it looks like, the new team administration:

New team administration

Use and functions

Open the team administration as before: Use the menu item Team administration behind the user avatar to open the new tab.

But that's where the similarities end. This is most obvious in the design: while the design of the old team management was based on the design of the SeaTable app, the new team management follows the design of the website. The comparison of the menu structure of the old and new team management also shows that the user guidance has been rethought and functions have been added.

Side-by-side comparison navigation in old and new team administration

Overview

The overview is the start page of the team administration. It offers important status information about the team and the use of limits at a glance. Important extraordinary status information such as an upcoming change of subscription or an invalid credit card is also displayed.

Team

The new Team menu allows the administration of team members and groups. Team-wide user settings can also be made. These include, for example, mandatory authentication with a 2nd factor or the use of invitation links. The Team menu thus consolidates functions that were distributed across the menu items Users, Groups and Settings in the old team administration.

New team administration - TEAM

For each team member and group, extended information can be displayed and changes can be made. For team members, the name and group membership can be changed. The password can also be reset and the use of 2-factor authentication can be made mandatory. Of course, a user can also be deleted or deactivated. In the extended information of groups, the bases of a group can be displayed and the group members and their roles can be managed.

Bases

The Bases menu summarizes all information about the bases managed by the team and the existing access options. The latter include team-internal shares, external links as well as invitation links. As in the Team section, extended information and settings can be displayed by clicking on them. For example, for individual bases, the extended information can display all users who have access to the base, as well as their permission levels and the origin of the access permission (e.g. ownership of the base, group membership, sharing).

Subscription

The administration of your subscription - and this includes the cancellation of your subscription - is done in the menu of the same name. By clicking on the menu item you can see your current subscription incl. type of subscription, number of subscribed users, payment frequency and payment method as well as billing address and recipient. You can adjust all this information yourself.

New team administration - SUBSCRIPTION

In the new account area we can now also offer payment on account for upgrades from Free to Enterprise. Simply select invoice as the payment method when upgrading. (Prerequisites for invoice payment are annual payment and at least 10 users).

In the tab Bills all your team's invoices and their payment status are listed. You can also download an invoice. To do so, click on the invoice number in the last column.

API & Integration

As a team administrator, the API & Integration menu item is important to control the integration of SeaTable with third-party applications. Existing base tokens to which you have access as a team administrator are displayed here. The base tokens can be edited with one click.

Help & Support

Teams with a Plus or Enterprise subscription that receive individual email support from our support team can submit support requests in the Help & Support area and track the status of all requests from the entire team here. This function was not available in the old team administration.

In order to submit a support request, it is necessary to log in to the ticket system of SeaTable. The access data for this is displayed here. The password for the login is generated dynamically each time the page is called up. You can create a new ticket after logging into the ticket system by clicking on the plus sign at the bottom left.

Under the access data for the ticket system, all support requests are listed chronologically in a table. A click on the title of an existing ticket opens the ticket in the ticket system. If you are not yet logged in, you must first log in with the access data.

Legal

The menu item Legal is the central point of contact for essential documents that regulate the use of SeaTable Cloud and the contractual relationship between you as a customer and SeaTable GmbH as the operator of SeaTable Cloud.

New team administration - LEGAL

Here you can also create your personal AV contract based on our AV model contract. Click on Create Data Processing Contract and then specify the type of data stored in SeaTable and the group of data subjects. If you agree to the contract, then your personal AV contract will be created in PDF form and saved as a new document here. (AV contracts can currently only be created in German).

Faster to the destination

We are confident that SeaTable's new team management will bring a big productivity boost: New functions allow for extended self-administration, better overviews answer questions faster and the payment processing is also more flexible and versatile. Of course, the team administration is available in the languages of our website.

We welcome feedback on the new team management - also via the ticket function integrated in the Help & Support area.

Avatar photo
Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger
Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger is the founder and managing director of SeaTable. He is the strategic mastermind of SeaTable and the master of numbers. He loves his fiancée's cookies and a good bike ride.

Neue Teamverwaltung

Einfachere Verwaltung Ihres Teams – die neue Teamverwaltung

Mit dem Upgrade der SeaTable Cloud auf die Version 3.0 profitieren Cloud Abonnenten nicht nur von den vielen neuen und verbesserten Funktionen des Major Releases, sondern auch von einer neuen Teamverwaltung, die das Management von kleinen und insbesondere größeren Teams vereinfacht. Neue Funktionen wurden ergänzt, bestehende Funktionen wurden erweitert und ein neues Design schafft mehr Übersicht und Nutzerfreundlichkeit. Wir freuen uns, Ihnen die neue Teamverwaltung und die wichtigsten Änderungen in diesem Betrag vorzustellen.

Ausgangslage und Herausforderungen

Die „alte“ Teamverwaltung von SeaTable Cloud ist ein Modul von SeaTable Server. (SeaTable Server ist die Software hinter SeaTable Cloud, die auch für die Installation auf dem eigenen Server zur Verfügung steht.) Als solches bietet es alle notwendigen Verwaltungsfunktionen für Teams, die für den Einsatz innerhalb einer Organisation (private Cloud) notwendig sind. Es bietet aber keine Funktionen für die Verwaltung von Abonnements und keine Integration mit einem Zahlungsdienstleister.

"Old" team administration

Diese für den Betrieb einer Lösung mit allgemeinem Benutzerkreis (public Cloud) notwendigen Funktionen wurden für SeaTable Cloud individuell ergänzt. In Sachen Nutzererfahrung blieb die Teamverwaltung trotz der vergleichsweisen hohen technischen Komplexität hinter üblichen Standards zurück. Die Erweiterung eines Teams beispielsweise erforderte zunächst die Erweiterung des Abonnements um einen oder mehrere Benutzer, bevor dann in einem anderen Menü zusätzliche Benutzer registriert werden konnten. Zahlreiche Supportanfragen inkl. des dazugehörigen Frusts ob dieses unüblichen Vorgehens waren die Folge.

Aufgrund der Trennung von Benutzer- und Abonnementverwaltung sowie Abrechnung bestanden auch hohe Hürden für die Umsetzung erweiterter Verwaltungsfunktionen. Zahlreiche Team-Admins baten beispielsweise um die Zusammenführung zweier bestehender Teams. Gleiches gilt für erweiterte Zahlungsmethoden. Zahlung per Rechnung konnte nur auf Basis einer individuellen Anfrage und mit unverhältnismäßig viel manuellem Aufwand auf Kunden und Anbieterseite umgesetzt werden.

Diese Themen wurden bei der Neuentwicklung der Teamverwaltung angegangen. Mit Freunde können wir sagen: Sie wurden gelöst! Und so sieht sie aus, die neue Teamverwaltung:

New team administration

Nutzung und Funktionen

Die Teamverwaltung öffnen Sie wie bisher: Über den Menüpunkt Team-Administration hinter dem Benutzeravatar öffnen Sie den neuen Tab.

Damit enden aber auch schon die Gemeinsamkeiten. Am deutlichsten wird dies beim Design: Während sich das Design der alten Teamverwaltung am Design der SeaTable App orientierte, folgt die neue Teamverwaltung dem Design der Webseite. Die Gegenüberstellung der Menüstruktur von alter und neuer Teamverwaltung zeigt auch, dass die Benutzerführung neu gedacht und Funktionen ergänzt wurden.

Side-by-side comparison navigation in old and new team administration

Überblick

Der Überblick ist die Startseite der Teamverwaltung. Sie bietet auf einen Blick wichtige Statusinformationen zum Team und der Nutzung der Limits. Wichtige außerordentliche Statusinformationen wie zum Beispiel ein anstehender Wechsel des Abonnements oder eine ungültige Kreditkarte werden ebenfalls angezeigt.

Team

Das neue Menü Team erlaubt die Verwaltung der Teammitglieder und der Gruppen. Ebenfalls können teamweite Benutzereinstellungen vorgenommen werden. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel die verpflichtende Authentifizierung mit einem 2. Faktor oder die Nutzung von Einladungs-Links. Das Menü Team konsolidiert damit Funktionen, die in der alten Teamverwaltung über die Menüpunkt Benutzer, Gruppen und Einstellungen verteilt waren.

New team administration - TEAM

Für jedes Teammitglied und jede Gruppe können erweiterte Informationen eingeblendet und Änderungen vorgenommen werden. Bei Teammitgliedern kann der Name und die Gruppenzugehörigkeit geändert werden. Auch kann das Passwort zurückgesetzt und die Nutzung einer 2-Faktor Authentifizierung verpflichtend gesetzt werden. Natürlich kann ein Benutzer auch gelöscht oder deaktiviert werden. In den erweiterten Informationen von Gruppen lassen sich die Bases einer Gruppe anzeigen und die Gruppenmitglieder und deren Rollen verwalten.

Bases

Das Menü Bases fasst alle Informationen zu den vom Team verwalteten Bases und den bestehenden Zugriffsmöglichkeiten zusammen. Zu letzteren gehören teaminterne Freigaben, externe Links sowie Einladungs-Links. Wie schon unter Team lassen sich erweiterte Informationen und Einstellungen per Klick anzeigen. Für einzelne Bases lassen sich in den erweiterten Informationen beispielsweise alle Benutzer anzeigen, die auf die Base Zugriff haben, sowie deren Berechtigungsniveaus und die Herkunft der Zugriffsberechtigung (z.B. Eigentum der Base, Gruppenmitgliedschaft, Freigabe).

Abonnement

Die Verwaltung Ihres Abonnements – und dazu gehört auch die Löschung Ihres Abonnements – erfolgt im gleichnamigen Menü. Mit einem Klick auf den Menüpunkt sehen Sie Ihr aktuelles Abonnement inkl. Typ des Abonnements, Anzahl der abonnierten Benutzer, Zahlungshäufigkeit und Zahlungsmethode sowie Rechnungsanschrift und -empfänger. Alle diese Informationen können Sie selbst anpassen.

New team administration - SUBSCRIPTION

Im neuen Account Bereich können wir nun auch Zahlung auf Rechnung bei Upgrades von Free auf Enterprise anbieten. Wählen Sie dazu einfach beim Upgrade als Bezahlmethode Rechnung aus. (Voraussetzungen für Rechnungszahlung sind jährliche Zahlungsweise und mind. 10 Benutzer.)

In der Registerkarte Rechnungen werden alle Rechnungen Ihres Teams und deren Zahlungsstatus aufgeführt. Eine Rechnung herunterladen können Sie auch. Klicken Sie dafür auf die Rechnungsnummer in der letzten Spalte.

API & Integration

Als Administrator eines Teams ist der Menüpunkt API & Integration wichtig, um die Integration von SeaTable mit Drittanbieteranwendungen zu steuern. Bestehende Base-Token, auf die Sie als Team Administrator Zugriff haben, werden hier angezeigt. Bearbeiten lassen sich die Base-Tokens mit einem Klick.

Hilfe & Support

Teams mit einem Plus oder Enterprise Abonnement, die individuellen E-Mail-Support durch unser Supportteam erhalten, können in Bereich Hilfe & Support Support-Anfragen stellen und den Status aller Anfragen des gesamten Teams hier auch nachverfolgen. Diese Funktion stand so in der alten Teamverwaltung nicht zur Verfügung.

Um eine Supportanfrage zu stellen, ist die Anmeldung am Ticketsystem von SeaTable notwendig. Die Zugangsdaten dafür werden hier angezeigt. Das Passwort für die Anmeldung wird dynamisch bei jedem Seitenaufruf erzeugt. Ein neues Ticket erstellen Sie nach dem Login in das Ticketsystem über das Plus-Zeichen links unten.

Unter den Zugangsdaten für das Ticketsystem werden tabellarisch alle gestellten Support-Anfragen chronologisch aufgeführt. Ein Klick auf den Titel eines bestehenden Tickets öffnet das Ticket im Ticketsystem. Wenn Sie noch nicht angemeldet sind, dann müssen Sie sich erst mit den Zugangsdaten anmelden.

Rechtliches

Der Menüpunkt Rechtliches ist zentraler Anlaufpunkt für essenzielle Dokumente, die die Nutzung von SeaTable Cloud und das Vertragsverhältnis zwischen Ihnen als Kunden und der SeaTable GmbH als Betreiber der SeaTable Cloud regeln.

New team administration - LEGAL

Hier können Sie auch Ihren persönlichen AV-Vertrag auf Basis unseres AV-Mustervertrags erstellen. Klicken Sie auf Auftragsverarbeitungs (AV)-Vertrag erstellen und spezifizieren Sie dann die Art der in SeaTable gespeicherten Daten sowie den Kreis der betroffenen Personen. Wenn Sie dem Vertrag zustimmen, dann wird Ihr persönlicher AV-Vertrag in PDF-Form erstellt und als neues Dokument hier abgelegt. (AV-Verträge können aktuell nur auf Deutsch erstellt werden.)

Schneller zum Ziel

Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass die neue Teamverwaltung von SeaTable ein großes Produktivitätsplus bringt: Neue Funktionen erlauben die erweiterte Selbstverwaltung, bessere Übersichten beantworten Fragen schneller und auch die Zahlungsabwicklung ist flexibler und vielseitiger. Natürlich steht die Teamverwaltung in den Sprachen unserer Webseite zur Verfügung.

Wir freuen uns über Feedback zur neuen Teamverwaltung – gerne auch über die im Bereich Hilfe & Support integrierte Ticketfunktion.

Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger
Ralf Dyllick-Brenzinger ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer von SeaTable. Er ist das strategische Mastermind von SeaTable und der Herr der Zahlen. Er liebt die Cookies seiner Verlobten und eine gute Fahrradtour.