How to create perfect product management with SeaTable

Digital product management is indispensable in dealing with products in today's age. Because digitally, many things are so much easier than they used to be. One goal is to map the various interfaces of the entire product management from start to finish and to compile all information completely and compactly. This often involves switching back and forth between different programmes and tools - with SeaTable, this is no longer necessary.

SeaTable offers an excellent basis for digital product management, as it can map almost all steps in the product development process with its versatile functions. In the following, we explain our specially developed template and all the important functions that are essential in the everyday life of a product manager.

Excursus: What is product management?

In product management, products are planned, developed, implemented and continuously monitored on the market. All processes are centrally controlled and monitored there. Product managers work out efficient product strategies suitable for the market and thus provide a decision-making basis for further work with products.

In product management, there are many interfaces with other departments and external stakeholders that need to be carefully organised together with the daily tasks. The dynamics of digital product management therefore require strong software to map all work processes carefully and, above all, to make work easier. Modern product development is dependent on digital product management, concludes an expert from the Fresenius University of Applied Sciences in Hamburg.

Informative product catalogues

Digital product management benefits from appropriate product management tools. A comprehensive catalogue with all product specifications should always be created internally for one's own products. A distinction can be made between two types: On the one hand, product information intended for external use and public distribution, such as for advertising catalogues or for product exhibitions.

On the other hand, there are also other product characteristics that are not intended for the general public, such as material thickness, coating or even own colour mixtures or material compositions. For this information, there is a detailed internal product data catalogue that summarises all of this. We have integrated both versions in our template.

Click here to go directly to the template

More overview with double grouping

To create a better overview within the catalogue, we use SeaTable's multiple grouping function. This allows you to arrange and structure your data as you wish: For example, by series and quality range, or as in our template, by product series and product type.

Product catalogue for digital product management

A product catalogue for external presentation

You need more than just a display view of your products? No problem! Simply add several views to your table and group, sort and filter your data as you need it. For example, you can work on the basis of individual product series by creating your own view for the "Gianna" series. With just a few clicks, you have all the relevant information at your fingertips.

Gallery plugin for all product images

You might know this - you are looking for a product and you know what it looks like, but not what it is called? Our gallery plugin is very helpful for this. It displays all the images that have been entered in the selected table and forms a compact information pool for your product management. With additional information such as product name, series and item number, you can thus create a detailed image gallery that also contains important product specifics.

Product image gallery for digital product management

With a few clicks you have created an informative gallery.

The plugin perfectly complements the product catalogues and makes image databases on other platforms superfluous. Since SeaTable is not only a powerful project management tool, but also a database that stores images in the original at the same time, this function is optimal for digital project management.

Simple cataloguing of products

Let us now turn to the internal product catalogue: This serves as an internal source of information and data collection point for the products. It not only contains elementary information such as product name, colour and quality range, but also important dimensions, material and material thickness, purchase and sales price, margin and much more related information.

This results in a very detailed product catalogue that enables every employee to obtain maximum information output with minimum effort. Indeed, a fully equipped catalogue minimises communication with responsible units, such as the product managers or other units, if, for example, the exact designation of the product coating is missing.

In our example, we directly created calculations for the margin in order to observe how the individual products perform in production. This is very easy with the formula column, which first calculates the margin and then the margin as a percentage. This way, product managers and employees can see at a glance how the different products are doing.

In the right part of the screen you see links to the table "Catalogue" and "Projects". The first link is used to correctly pass on some data from the product data sheet to the catalogue, as some information is the same. The table "Product Data" serves as a master table; whenever things are changed there, such as the purchase price, these values are automatically changed in the catalogue through the link. In this way, purchase prices no longer have to be changed manually.

The connection to the "Projects" table is used to link the project management around these products directly to the product data sheet. In this way, planned, ongoing and completed projects and marketing measures around the products are linked to the products themselves and your digital product management becomes a well-rounded affair.

Project management and task management

In product management, products are not only developed, but also implemented and marketed. This makes it all the more sensible to integrate projects directly into the base in order to have a central place for project management. And what would digital product management be without the appropriate tools for implementation? The individual projects are listed in a table with responsibilities, status, associated products and the departments involved.

In order to divide the individual projects more precisely into task packages, the table "Tasks" was created and linked to the project table - all tasks that belong to the project "Take a break - have a shot!", for example, are linked to it and at the same time also give a new structure to the task table. We have grouped the tasks per project so that everything remains clear.

For easier handling of the tasks, we have integrated the Kanban plugin, which makes task management easy. In the Kanban manner, individual tasks can be transformed into a new status with one click, for example when the products for the campaign have been finally selected: Done! The Kanban plugin is based on the various views created in a table, so you can also create employee-specific views for your own Kanban boards.

Digital product management with digital task management

With the Kanban plugin you always have your tasks perfectly in view

To ensure that you always have an eye on the time, we supplement our digital product management with the Timeline plug-in. It shows the course of time of your tasks in the form of a timeline. Always starting from the current date, a marker shows which tasks are still in time and which should already be completed. So you know at a glance whether your team is on schedule.

So that your digital product management stays on time

The timeline shows tasks and projects over time. Are you on time?

Sales figures for all branches

Of course, it is enormously important in product management to keep an eye on the monthly sales figures. Many informative analyses can be made on the basis of the figures. Will the new product flop and not be accepted by the customers at all? Or will it be an absolute sales hit? Is it possibly selling better in Germany than in Switzerland? All such questions can be answered very quickly with the sales figures.

Digital product management also includes monthly sales figures

All selling stores are listed here with address and sales figures

In our product management template, the table contains not only the sales, but also all listed sales outlets with address and the products that are sold at the outlets. The products are added to the "Catalogue" table by means of a link column and thus belong to the individual stores as sales units. The map plugin provides a visual representation of the individual outlets

This allows a detailed store portfolio to be created, for example if employees and branch managers are added. When the addresses are entered, the map plug-in can be used at the same time, which can locate locations by means of address or coordinates and visualise them on the map. Stores are thus mapped geographically and provide information about a particularly high or low store density and where exactly new locations could be planned.

Statistics for a clear view of data

The sales figures are the heart of this table and extremely important for digital product management. The monthly figures allow for far-reaching analyses. For the first and second quarters, the correct figures have already been determined with a formula column in order to be able to better compare the developments of the stores. With the help of your own SeaTable statistics, you can create valuable and meaningful statistics that structure your data in an informative and visual way.

We have already created some statistics that are helpful for the data evaluation of this table. There are hardly any limits to the selection possibilities: By selecting a view depending on the table, highly individualised statistics can be created; for example, if a shop is to be analysed specifically, a single view can be created for this branch and then a statistic created just for it.

Digital product management also includes statistics of all kinds

These statistics complement product management with important analyses

The first statistic shows the margins of the different product series and it becomes clear that the Easy Line has the highest margin. The following statistic on the right shows the sales figures in the first quarter for the individual sales locations: Berlin is obviously a strong location, while the figures in Graz look rather poor. So the rather meagre figures can be followed up by the product management in the further course to possibly improve the output.

The statistics at the bottom left show the monthly sales figures of the stores with a stacked bar chart, which also shows the sum of the months at the height of the bar. To get another perspective on the monthly sales,Flexible statistics for digital product management we have created another bar chart at the bottom left, showing all monthly sales figures per branch with narrow lines.

If you want more flexibility, you can use our plugin "Advanced Statistics". The advantage of this plugin is the enlargement of the statistics as desired in the overview and a completely flexible and new arrangement of statistics. These two statistics can be enlarged or reduced in any direction with the mouse pointer and can thus be placed perfectly next to each other. This is especially important in cases where important figures are to be compared directly with each other.

The statistics are a very powerful feature that is integrated in every version of SeaTable. Our template is available for download here!

Start your digital product management now with SeaTable

This application example clearly shows how well SeaTable can map digital product management and thus positively change the way you work. As a versatile and highly flexible software, SeaTable can adapt to your needs and react to every situation. With the different column types and useful plugins, a wide variety of processes can be implemented: No matter if you need a sophisticated CRM management tool or if you want to record and further process the working hours of your employees. With SeaTable, there are hardly any limits!

Register for free and try out our features. We have created helpful templates that can help you get started with certain topics!

Wie Sie mit SeaTable ein perfektes Produktmanagement schaffen

Digitales Produktmanagement ist im heutigen Zeitalter unabdingbar im Umgang mit Produkten. Denn digital ist vieles so viel einfacher, als es noch früher war. Dabei ist es ein Ziel, die verschiedenen Schnittstellen des ganzen Produktmanagements von Beginn bis Ende abzubilden und dabei alle Informationen vollständig und kompakt zusammen zu tragen. Oft wird dabei zwischen verschiedenen Programmen und Tools hin- und hergewechselt – mit SeaTable ist das nicht mehr nötig.

SeaTable bietet eine hervorragende Grundlage für digitales Produktmanagement, da es mit seinen vielseitigen Funktionen nahezu alle Schritte im Produktentwicklungsprozess abbilden kann. Im Folgenden erklären wir unser eigens entwickeltes Template und alle wichtigen Funktionen, die im Alltag eines Produktmanagers essentiell sind.

Exkurs: Was ist Produktmanagement?

Im Produktmanagement werden Produkte geplant, entwickelt, umgesetzt und kontinuierlich am Markt beobachtet. Alle Prozesse werden dort  zentral gesteuert und kontrolliert. Produktmanager arbeiten dabei effiziente Produktstrategien passend für den Markt aus und geben damit eine Entscheidungsgrundlage für die weitere Arbeit mit Produkten.

Es ergeben sich im Produktmanagement viele Schnittstellen mit anderen Abteilungen und externen Stakeholdern, die zusammen mit den täglichen Aufgaben sorgfältig organisiert werden müssen. Die Dynamiken des digitalen Produktmanagements benötigen daher eine starke Software, um alle Arbeitsprozesse sorgfältig und vor allem arbeitserleichternd abzubilden. Moderne Produktentwicklung ist auf ein digitales Produktmanagement angewiesen, so lautet das Fazit eines Experten der Hochschule Fresenius in Hamburg.

Informative Produktkataloge

Digitales Produktmanagement profitiert von entsprechenden Produktmanagement-Tools. Für die eigenen Produkte sollte intern immer ein umfassender Katalog mit allen Produktspezifikationen angelegt werden. Dabei kann zwischen zwei Arten unterschieden werden: Zum einen die Produktinformationen, die für den externen Gebrauch und zur öffentlichen Verbreitung gedacht sind, wie etwa für Werbekataloge oder für Produktausstellungen.

Zum anderen gibt es auch weitere Produktcharakteristika, die nicht für die Öffentlichkeit bestimmt sind, wie etwa Materialstärke, Beschichtung oder gar eigene Farbmischungen oder Materialzusammensetzungen. Für diese Informationen gibt es einen ausführlichen internen Produktdatenkatalog, der all dies zusammenfasst. In unserem Template haben wir beide Varianten integriert.

Hier gelangen Sie direkt zum Template

Mehr Übersicht mit doppelter Gruppierung

Um innerhalb des Katalogs eine bessere Übersicht zu erzeugen, nutzen wir die mehrfache Gruppierungsfunktion von SeaTable. Damit können Sie Ihre Daten nach Belieben ordnen und strukturieren: Zum Beispiel nach Serie und Qualitätsrange, oder wie in unserem Template, nach Produktserie und Produktart.

Produktkatalog für digitales Produktmanagement

Ein Produktkatalog für die Präsentation nach außen

Sie benötigen mehr als nur eine Darstellungsansicht Ihrer Produkte? Kein Problem! Fügen Sie einfach mehrere Ansichten zu Ihrer Tabelle hinzu und gruppieren, sortieren und filtern Sie Ihre Daten, wie Sie sie benötigen. Sie können etwa auf der Basis einzelner Produktserien arbeiten, indem Sie sich eine eigene Ansicht zur Serie “Gianna” erstellen. Mit wenigen Klicks haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen verfügbar.

Galerie-Plugin für alle Produktbilder

Sie kennen das vielleicht – Sie suchen ein Produkt und Sie wissen, wie es aussieht, aber nicht, wie es heißt? Dafür ist unser Galerie-Plugin sehr hilfreich. Es zeigt alle eingepflegten Bilder an, die sich in der ausgewählten Tabelle befinden und bildet für Ihr Produktmanagement einen kompakten Informationspool. Mit zusätzlichen Informationen wie Produktname, Serie und Artikelnummer können Sie so eine ausführliche Bildergalerie erstellen, die gleichzeitig wichtige Produktspezifika beinhaltet.

Produktbilder-Galerie für digitales Produktmanagement

Mit wenigen Klicks haben Sie eine informative Galerie erstellt.

Das Plugin ergänzt die Produktkataloge perfekt und macht Bilddatenbanken auf anderen Plattformen überflüssig. Da SeaTable nicht nur ein starkes Projektmanagement-Tool ist, sondern auch gleichzeitig eine Datenbank, die Bilder im Original speichert, ist diese Funktion für das digitale Projektmanagement optimal.

Einfache Katalogisierung von Produkten

Kommen wir nun zum internen Produktkatalog: Dieser dient als interne Informationsquelle und Datensammelpunkt zu den Produkten. Dabei sind hier nicht nur elementare Informationen wie Produktname, Farbe und Qualitätsrange enthalten, sondern auch wichtige Maße, das Material sowie die Materialstärke, der Einkaufs- und der Verkaufspreis, die Marge und viele weitere zugehörige Informationen.

Damit ergibt sich ein sehr ausführlicher Produktkatalog, der es jedem Mitarbeiter ermöglicht, mit minimalem Aufwand maximalen Informations-Output zu erhalten. Ein voll ausgestatteter Katalog minimiert nämlich die Kommunikation mit zuständigen Einheiten, wie den Produktmanagern oder anderen Stellen, wenn zum Beispiel die genaue Bezeichnung der Produktbeschichtung fehlt.

In unserem Beispiel haben wir direkt Berechnungen für die Marge angelegt, um zu beobachten, wie die einzelnen Produkte in der Herstellung performen. Das geht ganz leicht mit der Formelspalte, mit der zuerst die Marge und dann die Marge in Prozent ausgerechnet wurden. So haben Produktmanager und Mitarbeiter auf einen Blick, wie es um die verschiedenen Produkte steht.

Im rechten Teil des Bilds sehen Sie Verknüpfungen zur Tabelle “Catalogue” und “Projects”. Die erste Verknüpfung dient dazu, einige Daten aus dem Produktdatenblatt korrekt an den Katalog weiterzugeben, da einige Informationen gleich sind. Die Tabelle “Product Data” dient dabei als Master-Tabelle; immer, wenn dort Dinge, wie etwa der Einkaufs-Preis, geändert werden, so ändern sich diese Werte durch die Verknüpfung automatisch auch im Katalog. Auf diese Weise müssen EK-Preise nicht mehr manuell geändert werden.

Die Verbindung zur Tabelle “Projects” dient dazu, das Projektmanagement um diese Produkte direkt mit dem Produktdatenblatt zu verbinden. Somit sind geplante, laufende und abgeschlossene Projekte und Marketingmaßnahmen rund um die Produkte mit den Produkten selbst verknüpft und Ihr digitales Produktmanagement wird zu einer runden Sache.

Projektmanagement und Aufgabenverwaltung

Im Produktmanagement werden Produkte nicht nur entwickelt, sondern auch umgesetzt und vermarktet. Umso sinnvoller kann es sein, Projekte direkt in die Base mit einzubinden, um einen zentralen Ort der Projektverwaltung zu haben. Und was wäre ein digitales Produktmanagement ohne entsprechende Tools für die Umsetzung? Die einzelnen Projekte sind in einer Tabelle mit Verantwortlichkeiten, Status, zugehörigen Produkten und den involvierten Abteilungen aufgelistet.

Um die einzelnen Projekte genauer in Aufgabenpakete zu unterteilen, wurde die Tabelle “Tasks” erstellt und mit der Projekt-Tabelle verknüpft – alle Aufgaben, die zum Beispiel zum Projekt “Take a break – have a shot!” gehören, sind damit verknüpft und geben gleichzeitig dadurch auch eine neue Struktur in der Aufgaben-Tabelle. Wir haben dort die Aufgaben je Projekt gruppiert, damit alles übersichtlich bleibt.

Zur einfacheren Handhabung der Aufgaben haben wir das Kanban-Plugin integriert, mit dem Aufgabenverwaltung ein Leichtes wird. Ganz nach Kanban-Manier können einzelne Aufgaben mit einem Klick in einen neuen Status transformiert werden, etwa wenn die Produkte für die Kampagne final ausgewählt wurden: Done! Das Kanban-Plugin basiert auf den verschiedenen erstellten Ansichten einer Tabelle, Sie können also auch Mitarbeiter-individuelle Ansichten für eigene Kanban-Boards erstellen.

Digitales Produktmanagement mit digitaler Aufgabenverwaltung

Mit dem Kanban-Plugin haben Sie Ihre Aufgaben immer perfekt im Blick

Damit Sie die Zeit auch immer im Blick haben, ergänzen wir unser digitales Produktmanagement mit dem Timeline-Plugin. Es zeigt den Zeitverlauf Ihrer Aufgaben in Form eines Zeitstrahls an. Immer ausgehend vom aktuellen Datum zeigt eine Markierung auf, welche Aufgaben noch in der Zeit liegen und welche bereits erledigt sein sollten. So wissen Sie auf einen Blick, ob Ihr Team im Zeitplan liegt.

Damit Ihr digitales Produktmanagement on time bleibt

Die Zeitleiste zeigt Aufgaben und Projekte im Zeitverlauf. Sind Sie on time?

Verkaufszahlen aller Filialen

Natürlich ist es im Produktmanagement enorm wichtig, die monatlichen Verkaufszahlen im Blick zu behalten. Anhand der Zahlen können sehr viele aufschlussreiche Analysen gemacht werden. Floppt das neue Produkt und wird von den Kunden gar nicht angenommen? Oder wird es der absolute Verkaufsschlager? Verkauft es sich möglicherweise in Deutschland besser als in der Schweiz? All solche Fragen können mit den Verkaufszahlen sehr schnell beantwortet werden.

Digitales Produktmanagement beinhaltet auch die monatlichen Verkaufszahlen

Alle verkaufenden Stores sind hier mit Adresse und Verkaufszahlen aufgelistet

In unserem Produktmanagement Template beinhaltet die Tabelle nicht nur die Sales, sondern auch alle gelisteten Verkaufsstellen mit Adresse und den Produkten, die an den Stellen verkauft werden. Die Produkte werden mittels Verknüpfungs-Spalte zur Tabelle “Catalogue” hinzugefügt und gehören somit den einzelnen Stores als Verkaufseinheiten an. Das Map-Plugin bietet eine visuelle Darstellung der einzelnen Verkaufsstellen

Damit kann ein ausführliches Store-Portfolio angelegt werden, zum Beispiel wenn noch Mitarbeiter und Filialleiter hinzugefügt werden. Mit der Eintragung der Adressen kann gleichzeitig das Map-Plugin genutzt werden, das Orte mittels Adresse oder Koordinaten lokalisieren kann und diese auf der Karte visualisiert. Damit sind Stores geografisch abgebildet und geben so Aufschluss über eine besonders hohe oder niedrige Store-Dichte und wo genau neue Lokalitäten geplant werden könnten.

Statistiken für einen klaren Blick auf Daten

Die Verkaufszahlen sind das Herzstück dieser Tabelle und extrem wichtig für das digitale Produktmanagement. Die monatlich übermittelten Zahlen lassen weitreichende Analysen zu. Für das erste und zweite Quartal wurden bereits mit einer Formelspalte die korrekten Zahlen ermittelt, um die Entwicklungen der Stores besser vergleichen zu können. Mithilfe der eigenen SeaTable-Statistiken können Sie wertvolle und aussagekräftige Statistiken erstellen, die Ihre Daten aufschlussreich und visuell strukturieren.

Wir haben bereits einige Statistiken erstellt, die hilfreich für die Datenauswertung dieser Tabelle sind. Dabei sind den Auswahlmöglichkeiten kaum Grenzen gesetzt: Indem Sie je nach Tabelle eine Ansicht auswählen, können hochindividuelle Statistiken erstellt werden; wenn zum Beispiel ein Shop gezielt analysiert werden soll, kann eine einzelne Ansicht für diese Filiale erstellt und anschließend eine Statistik nur hierfür erstellt werden.

Digitales Produktmanagement beinhaltet auch Statistiken jeder Art

Diese Statistiken ergänzen das Produktmanagement um wichtige Analysen

Die erste Statistik zeigt die Margen der verschiedenen Produktserien auf und es wird klar, dass die Easy Line die höchste Marge hat. Die folgende Statistik rechts die Verkaufszahlen im ersten Quartal für die einzelnen Verkaufsstandorte: Berlin ist offensichtlich ein starker Standort, während die Zahlen in Graz eher schlecht aussehen. Den eher mauen Zahlen kann das Produktmanagement also im weiteren Verlauf nachgehen, um möglicherweise den Output zu verbessern.

Die Statistik unten links zeigt die monatlichen Verkaufszahlen der Stores mit einem gestapelten Balkendiagramm an, die auch gleichzeitig die Summe der Monate in der Höhe des Balkens angeben. Um noch einen anderen Blickwinkel auf die monatlichen Sales zu bekommen,Flexible Statistiken für digitales Produktmanagement haben wir unten links ein weiteres Säulendiagramm erstellt, das alle monatlichen Verkaufszahlen pro Filiale mit schmalen Linien anzeigt.

Wer mehr Flexibilität möchte, kann unser Plugin “Erweiterte Statistiken” nutzen. Der Vorteil dieses Plugins ist die Vergrößerung der Statistik nach Belieben in der Übersicht und eine gänzlich flexible und neue Anordnung von Statistiken. Diese zwei Statistiken können mit dem Mauszeiger in jede Richtung vergrößert oder verkleinert werden und können so perfekt nebeneinander platziert werden. Das ist vor allem bei Fällen wichtig, in denen wichtige Zahlen direkt miteinander verglichen werden sollen.

Die Statistiken sind ein sehr machtvolles Feature, das in jeder Version von SeaTable integriert. Unser Template steht Ihnen hier zum Download bereit!

Jetzt mit SeaTable in Ihr digitales Produktmanagement starten

Mit diesem Anwendungsbeispiel wird deutlich, wie gut SeaTable ein digitales Produktmanagement abbilden und damit Ihre Arbeitsweise positiv verändern kann. Als vielseitige und hochflexible Software kann SeaTable sich ganz auf Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen und auf jede Gegebenheit reagieren. Mit den verschiedenen Spaltentypen und nützlichen Plugins können die verschiedensten Prozesse umgesetzt werden: Egal ob Sie ein ausgefeiltes CRM-Management-Tool benötigen, oder ob Sie die Arbeitszeit Ihrer Mitarbeiter erfassen und weiter verarbeiten möchten. Mit SeaTable sind Ihnen kaum Grenzen gesetzt!

Registrieren Sie sich kostenlos und probieren Sie unsere Features aus. Wir haben hilfreiche Templates erstellt, die Ihnen den Einstieg in bestimmte Themen erleichtern können!