SeaTable 1.4: New options for data management and online collaboration

We are pleased to announce the release of SeaTable 1.4! We've included a new column type, improved database features, real-time chat, and many other improvements in this new release. Organizing data and working together as a team has never been easier or more convenient! And the best thing is: Every user benefits from the new features, including the free subscription.

For a full list of changes, visit the SeaTable Changelog. This release note summarizes the biggest and most exciting updates of SeaTable 1.4. So let’s get going!

Introducing column type #18

SeaTable 1.4 adds one more column type: The URL column. It is similar to the text column, but its contents are interpreted as links to network resources: https://seatable.io, www.seafile.com, 192.168.178.1 and localhost:8000 are all meaningful entries.

When saved in a URL column, a network resource is just two clicks away: Click on a cell and a link-icon appears on the right in the cell. Make another click on this icon and the resource is called in a new browser tab. http(s) gets automatically added as a prefix. If you are asking yourself why one click does not do the trick, here is the reason: Two clicks prevent accidental visits of the links’ target when navigating in a table, which might happen often especially on mobile devices.

More powerful, yet simpler database functions

Database afficionados will love the new wizard for linking records and the possibility to run queries across indirectly linked tables. SeaTable makes databases as simple as they should be!

Simplifying linking records

In version 1.3, selecting a linked record was a bit tedious. An in-cell dropdown displayed the content of the first column in the linked table – not ideal when there were two or more rows with the same content. In SeaTable 1.4: This problem is solved!

The dropdown has made way for a new, content-rich and context-dependent wizard. A double-click on a cell opens it up: For empty cells, the wizard lists all the records in the linked table including the content from the first few columns. Confusion about which record to choose is a thing of the past! When clicking on a cell with existing linked records, the window opens up with the details of the linked record. More records can be linked via the button “Add a new link” in the wizard’s top right corner.

New wizard for link to other records columns

The new wizard greatly facilitates the creation of links between tables, but that’s not all it can do. You can also create new records in the linked table right from the wizard. No need for switching tables. No awkward clicking sessions. No time lost. You basically work in two different tables from one.

Leveraging the full potential of database queries

Running queries across multiple tables is part of the magic of databases. While previous versions of SeaTable limited queries to directly linked fields, this restriction is no more with the newest release. As long as records are logically linked, SeaTable can walk down the link chain and retrieve the target value – no matter the number of tables it has to cross. The intuitive implementation in SeaTable ensures that not only database experts can benefit from the database magic.

Imagine managing your IT assets with SeaTable. In Table 1, you manage the users, Table 2 lists the rooms, and Table 3 lists the hardware. Each user has a 1:1 relationship with a room and a 1:n relationship with the IT assets. The user is therefore the link between the room and the asset. With SeaTable 1.4, creating a list of IT assets per room is a matter of a few clicks.

Chat with coworkers in real-time

Good communication within the team is key for efficient online collaboration. With the new real-time chat, SeaTable 1.4 introduces exactly what you need to stay in touch with your teammates! Bouncing off ideas, commenting on new data entries or discussing modifications – you can do it where it is easiest: right with the data.

Real-time chat in comments

If you don’t know the row comment feature yet, select a row and hit the SPACE key now to open the row details. In the top right corner, you find the comments panel. SeaTable’s new message backend goes to work right away and notifies users about your comment. If they are online, the group chat begins. Exchange your ideas and inspirations while they are fresh!

More automation with webhooks

What is better than SeaTable? SeaTable integrated with some of your other favorite applications! This is why it was important for us to put SeaTable on Zapier as quickly as possible.

But Zapier was only the first step. Webhooks introduced with this version are the second. SeaTables Webhooks makes it easy to trigger event-based actions in external applications. Here are two simple examples: A counter is incremented by one when a new entry is created or an email is sent when a value exceeds a critical threshold.

Python support for SeaTable scripts

Python support in SeaTable scripts

Last but not least, SeaTable 1.4 also has something in store for developers. This time, we have good news for all those fond of Python.

After adding JavaScript support in SeaTable 1.3, SeaTable 1.4 adds Python support to SeaTable scripts. Import your Python script or write it in SeaTable’s script editor to automate data processing and make SeaTable your custom application. To learn more about SeaTable scripts, read our SeaTable Scripts Programming Manual.

Spoiler alert: In one of the next releases, we’ll add time triggers for executing scripts.

Many other improvements

Not all of SeaTable’s team of roughly 30 work on the big new features individually mentioned above. A lot of resources also go into countless smaller, incremental improvements. Here just a few.

We have reorganized the navigation on the left in the base library. The new navigation is composed of two menu categories: The Workspace contains the bases, forms, and activities. Help and resources provide direct links to our growing set of templates as well as a direct link to the User’s Manual.

Talking about the activities menu: This menu itself has undergone a massive redesign. In the past, the activities listed off all actions in chronological order which became a bit unwieldy when user activity grew. The new activities menu maintains the chronological order, but groups the changes base by base and is much easier to navigate. A click on a base opens the details of all the changes on one day.

Small, impactful changes have also been brought upon the table view! When opening a base for the first time, its description will automatically push to the front. This is extremely helpful when sharing bases with others. Before diving into the data, they will be confronted with the instructions that you want them to read.

Feel inspired or interested? Allow us to remind you that registering is incredibly easy and SeaTable is permanently free of charge. If you have any questions or doubts, feel free to reach out to us via the SeaTable Forum.

SeaTable 1.4: Neue Optionen für die Datenverwaltung und die Online Collaboration

Wir freuen uns, die Veröffentlichung von SeaTable 1.4 bekannt zu geben! Wir haben einen neuen Spaltentyp, verbesserte Datenbankfunktionen, einen Realtime Chat und viele weitere Verbesserungen in dieses neue Release gepackt. Die Organisation von Daten und die Zusammenarbeit im Team war nie so einfach und bequem! Und das beste ist: Jeder Nutzer profitiert von den neuen Features, inklusive des Free Abos.

Eine vollständige Liste der Änderungen finden Sie im SeaTable Changelog. Diese Release Note stellt die wichtigsten und aufregendsten Änderungen von SeaTable 1.4 dar. Auf geht’s!

Willkommen im Team Spaltentyp #18

SeaTable 1.4 erhält einen weiteren Spaltentyp: Die URL-Spalte. Diese verhält sich wie eine Text-Spalte, der Zelleninhalt wird aber als Verweis auf eine Netzwerkressource interpretiert. Internet- und IP-Adressen wie https://seatable.io, www.seafile.com, 192.168.178.1 und localhost:8000 sind in der URL-Spalte gut aufgehoben.

Die Adresse einer Netzwerkressource lässt sich aus einer URL-Spalte mit zwei Klicks aufrufen. Beim ersten Klick erscheint am rechten Zellenrand ein Link-Icon. Mit einem zweiten Klick auf dieses Icon wird die Adresse in einem neuen Browser Tab aufgerufen; http(s) wird automatisch als Präfix ergänzt. Wenn Sie sich nun fragen, warum zwei Klicks notwendig sind, hier der Grund: Zwei Klicks schützen vor irrtümlichen Webseitenaufrufen beim Navigieren in der Tabelle, was gerade auf Mobilgeräten leicht passieren kann.

Leistungsfähigere und einfachere Datenbankfunktionen

Der neue Assistent für die Verknüpfungsspalte und die erweiterten Abfragemöglichkeiten werden insbesondere aber nicht nur Datenbankfans begeistern! SeaTable macht Datenbanken so einfach, wie sie sein sollten!

Verknüpfungen ganz einfach

Das Verknüpfen von Einträgen war in der Version 1.3 noch etwas mühsam. Ein Dropdown-Menü listete die Einträge der ersten Spalten in der verlinkten Tabelle auf. Kompakt, aber unpraktisch, wenn die verlinkte Tabelle zwei oder mehr Zeilen mit den gleichen Werten in Spalte 1 aufwies. Dieses Problem ist in SeaTable 1.4 gelöst!

Das Dropdown hat Platz gemacht für einen neuen, detailreichen und kontextsensiblen Assistenten. Ein Doppelklick auf eine Zelle öffnet ihn. Bei einer leeren Zelle zeigt der Assistent die ersten Spalten der verlinkten Tabelle an. Verwirrung darüber, welcher Eintrag in der Zieltabelle nun den richtige ist, ist damit ein Ding der Vergangenheit. Bei einem Doppelklick auf eine Zelle mit bereits verlinkten Einträgen zeigt der Assistent die Details der verlinkten Einträge an. Weitere Einträge können über die Schaltfläche “Neuen Link hinzufügen” in der oberen rechten Ecke verknüpft werden.

New wizard for link to other records columns

Der neue Assistent vereinfacht die Verknüpfung von Tabellen, das ist aber nicht das Einzige, was er kann. Direkt aus dem Assistenten heraus lassen sich auch neue Einträge in der verknüpften Tabelle erstellen. Ganz ohne Wechsel der Tabellen, ohne Klickorgien und Zeitverlust. Mit dem neuen Assistenten arbeiten Sie gleichzeitig in zwei unterschiedlichen Tabellen.

Volle Datenbankpower

Datenbankabfragen quer über mehrere Tabellen haben etwas magischen an sich. In früheren Versionen von SeaTable waren Abfragen nur über direkt miteinander verlinkte Tabellen möglich. Diese Einschränkung wurde in SeaTable 1.4 aufgehoben! Solange Einträge per Verknüpfungen verbunden sind, kann SeaTable diese verfolgen und den Zielwerte ausgeben – unabhängig von der Zahl der Verknüpfungen, denen SeaTable dafür folgen muss. Die intuitive Implementierung dieser Funktion in SeaTable stellt sicher, dass nicht nur Datenbankexperten in den Genuss dieses Hauchs von Magie kommen.

Stellen Sie sich vor, Sie verwalten Ihre IT-Assets mit SeaTable. In Tabelle 1 verwalten Sie die Benutzer, Tabelle 2 enthält die Räume und Tabelle 3 listet die Hardware auf. Jeder Benutzer ist per 1:1-Verknüpfung mit einem Zimmer und einer 1:n-Beziehung mit den IT-Assets verbunden. Der Benutzer stellt somit das Bindeglied zwischen Raum und Asset dar. Mit SeaTable 1.4 ist die Erstellung einer Liste der IT-Assets pro Raum eine Sache von wenigen Klicks.

Chatten mit Kollegen in Echtzeit

Effiziente Online Zusammenarbeit geht nicht ohne gute Kommunikation im Team. Die Version 1.4 führt nun die Lösung ein, mit der Sie mit Ihren Teammitgliedern im engen Kontakt bleiben! Ideen besprechen, neue Datensätze kommentieren und Änderungen diskutieren, all das ist ganz einfach möglich und geschieht dort, wo es passieren soll: direkt in den Daten.

Real-time chat in comments

Wenn Sie die Kommentarfunktion noch nicht kennen, dann wählen Sie eine Zeile aus und drücken Sie die Leertaste, um die Zeilendetails aufzurufen. In der oberen rechten Ecken finden Sie die Kommentarspalte. SeaTables verbessertes Backend informiert die Benutzer ohne Zeitverzug über neue Kommentare. Sind die Benutzer online, dann kann der Gruppenchat losgehen. Ansonsten werden die Benutzer per Benachrichtigung informiert. Tauschen Sie Ihre Ideen und Eindrücke mit den Kollegen, wenn sie frisch sind.

Webhooks für bessere Automatisierung

Was ist besser als SeaTable? SeaTable im Zusammenspiel mit Ihren anderen Lieblingsanwendungen! Aus diesem Grund haben wir uns bemüht, mit Zapier schnellstmöglich eine komfortable Integrationsmöglichkeit anzubieten.

Aber Zapier war nur der erste Schritt. Webhooks, die mit dieser Version eingeführt werden, sind der zweite. Mit SeaTables Webhooks wird es ganz einfach, ereignisbasiert Aktionen in externen Anwendungen auszulösen. Hier zwei einfache Beispiele: Ein Zähler wird um eins erhöht, wenn ein neuer Eintrag angelegt wird oder eine E-Mail wird versendet, wenn ein Wert eine kritische Schwelle überschreitet.

SeaTable Skripte nun auch in Python

Python support in SeaTable scripts

Nicht zuletzt bietet SeaTable 1.4 auch eine Neuerung für Entwickler. Diesmal sind es gute Nachrichten für Python Liebhaber.

SeaTable 1.3 führte SeaTables Skripting Engine ein. JavaScript war die unterstützte Skriptsprache. Mit SeaTable 1.4 lassen sich nun auch Skripte in Python entwickeln und ausführen. Importieren Sie Ihr Python Skript oder entwickeln Sie es direkt in SeaTables Skript Editor und automatisieren Sie so die Datenverarbeitung und bauen Sie Ihre Individualanwendung. Mehr Informationen über SeaTables Skripte finden Sie im SeaTable Scripts Programming Manual (nur auf Englisch verfügbar).

Spoiler: In einer der nächsten Versionen werden wir die Möglichkeit ergänzen, Skripte zeitgesteuert auszuführen.

Viele weitere Verbesserungen

Nicht SeaTables gesamtes Entwicklerteam von rund 30 Leuten arbeitet an diesen großen Entwicklungen. Viel Arbeit und Leidenschaft fließt auch in die zahllosen kleinen, inkrementellen Verbesserungen von SeaTable, die wir mit jeder Version vornehmen und SeaTable so Stück für Stück besser machen. An dieser Stelle nur die wichtigsten Verbesserungen unter diesen Kleinen.

Wir haben die Navigation auf der linken Seite in der Basebibliothek neu organisiert. Die neue Navigation enthält zwei Kategorien: Der Workspace enthält die Bases, Webformulare und Aktivitätenübersicht. Hilfe und Ressourcen bietet Direktlinks zu unserer wachsenden Templatesammlung sowie zum Benutzerhandbuch.

Zum Thema Aktivitätenübersicht: Dieses Menü selbst ist mit seinem neuen Design kaum wiederzuerkennen. In der Vergangenheit wurden hier alle Aktivitäten ohne weitere Struktur in chronologischer Reihenfolge aufgelistet. Bei steigender Benutzungsintensität wurde das schnell unübersichtlich. Die neue Aktivitätenübersicht behält die chronologische Grundstruktur bei, gruppiert die Aktivitäten aber Base bei Base und schafft so viel mehr Übersicht. Ein Klick auf eine Base öffnet die Details der Änderungen am gewählten Tag.

Kleine, aber feine Verbesserungen hat auch die Tabellenansicht erfahren. Wenn Sie nun eine Base zum ersten Mal öffnen, dann wird automatisch die Beschreibung der Base aufgerufen. Dies ist sehr nützlich, wenn Sie Bases mit anderen teilen. So werden Ihre Kollegen mit den Informationen versorgt, die Sie sie sehen lassen wollen, bevor sie sich auf die Daten stürzen.

Sie sind interessiert oder sogar inspiriert? Dann worauf warten? Die Anmeldung ist im Nu gemacht und SeaTable ist dauerhaft kostenlos! Bei Fragen oder Zweifeln, Ideen oder Feedback schreiben Sie uns bitte oder hinterlassen Sie ein Kommentar im Forum.