Smartphone display with various project management tools.

This is how a project management tool can support your team in human resource management

Why do you need a project management tool for HR? HR management has long since ceased to consist solely of repetitive, clearly defined tasks. Areas such as applicant management or personnel development demand new processes, optimizations and changes. These goals are pursued in the form of short- or mostly long-term projects. Read how a simple project management tool can relieve the burden on your HR department.

Human resource management: special features and daily tasks

Let's start with a look at the specifics of human resource management.

Human resources management tasks include:

  • Personnel planning
  • Recruitment
  • Staff deployment
  • Remuneration management
  • Personnel controlling
  • Human resources development

It includes all activities related to the planning, development, administration and management of personnel. In addition to everyday organisational tasks, there are also long-term projects, often in cooperation with other departments.

Projects in human resources management

A project management tool therefore becomes necessary to keep track of and efficiently manage projects, no matter how complex. But how can a programme relieve the HR department?

How can a project management tool support human resource management?

One of the most important tasks of HR is applicant management. This includes a wide range of topics from branding the company, campaigns and job advertisements, coordination with the specialist departments to assessment centres and hiring or rejection. A company-wide onboarding process can also be a task of the HR department.

A project management tool helps to standardise all these processes. It enables the data to be processed in a structured way and kept in view.

Other projects may concern staff development. What should be done to train and develop individuals or groups of staff? In the project management tool you set milestones and check the progress of the project.

It also makes it easier to work together in cross-departmental teams. Example of the applicant process: Here, smooth cooperation is particularly important. While HR is more responsible for the organisational tasks and communication with the applicants, the individual departments have to assess what the professional qualifications are and whether the candidate is a good fit for the team. A tool provides everyone involved with an overview of all aspects and the progress of the selection process.

Read now how such a tool for HR could look like and what you should pay attention to.

What should you look for when choosing the right project management tool?

A key issue in human resource management is data protection. The project management tool should therefore offer functions that allow different or filtered views on data. For EU companies, directives such as the GDPR must be met. Their data should be stored on servers in the EU.

Furthermore, HR projects can quickly become complex as they involve many people and extend over a long period of time. Your project management tool must be able to map task relationships and timelines in this case.

Lastly, ease of induction is important. Human resources staff are not full-time project managers, they have to perform a variety of different tasks. A new project management tool should therefore be easy to use.

Let's take a look at six well-known project management programmes in comparison below.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the different project management tools?

In the following, we present six programmes that can relieve your HR department. Let's start directly with the first project management tool.

#1 Airtable - More than Excel?

The project management tool Airtable advertises with spreadsheets and views like Excel. In addition, however, a database hangs in the background and Kanban boards are possible. This ultimately makes it interesting for project management, also in human resources.

Project Management Tool Airtable on search page of the laptop.

Project Management Tool © monticellllo / adobe stock

Advantages
The advantages of Airtable are the flexible user interface and various filters that simplify the structuring of data.

Disadvantages
A cross-project overview is not possible. It is therefore less suitable for larger and complex projects. The data is hosted on servers in the USA, which makes it difficult to use for HR management.

Secondly, we come to a project management tool that is popular for task management both privately and by companies: Trello.

#2 Trello - Project management with Kanban boards.

Trello is the well-known Kanban-style list solution. Different cards can be moved back and forth on boards.

Advantages
This simple project management tool is particularly suitable for clear task management.

Disadvantages
Relationships between tasks cannot be shown. Timelines are also not possible. The programme is also run on an AWS (Amazon Web Service) platform in the USA, which prevents data-protected use in Europe.

Let's now talk about a project management tool that many see as an extension to Trello:

#3 Asana - Kanban boards and more

Asana also supports the Kanban project method. However, you can still implement additional functions here.

Asana project management tool as an app on the smartphone.

Project Management Tool © Tada Images / adobe stock

Advantages
Among the additional functions are, for example, a timeline and a portfolio. Both help to manage several initiatives at the same time. Asana is therefore better suited for more complex projects than Trello. The existing task dependency system also means a big advantage for human resource management. Finally, it is worth mentioning that Asana offers EU data centres as a storage location.

Disadvantages
The disadvantage of Asana is that the additional complexity entails a higher learning curve.

Speaking of complexity, let's take a look at the bedrock of project management tools.

#4 Jira - The comprehensive project management tool

Jira is one of the most widely used project management programmes. It is also used by many companies for bug management.

Advantages
With this tool, you plan with Kanban, Scrum, Gantt chart or to-do lists (tables are not possible). Comprehensive task management and milestones are also available. Jira, like Trello, belongs to Atlassian, but here you can choose where your data should be located. Data centres in Germany are available.

Disadvantages
The disadvantages of using Jira in project management lie in the complexity of the programme. It quickly becomes unwieldy and requires extensive training of the employees.

#5 ProofHub - Many useful functions for project management

ProofHub helps teams organise and track projects while collaborating in a simple and flexible way in one central location.

Advantages
A clear advantage is the quick and easy setup of ProofHub. This means that you and your team lose no time and can start immediately with your first projects. In addition, many useful functions and tools are offered, such as a task manager, a Gantt chart, calendar or note function, in order to be able to work as efficiently as possible in the team. ProofHub is also very reasonably priced. The project management software is available in two different versions, which differ in terms of the number of projects and storage space. Here, only a monthly flat rate is charged, regardless of how many people use it.

Disadvantages
In some places, the user interface could be a little more intuitive. In addition, the loading times are sometimes a little slow.

#6 SeaTable - The rather untypical project management tool

SeaTable offers a good compromise between ease of use and the functions covered. It works via flexible column types and enables agile project management.

Advantages
The programme offers both task management with a Kanban board and a timeline including a calendar. It is suitable for any type of project up to holiday planning or error management. Private views on data are possible. SeaTable has also switched from AWS to the Swiss provider Exoscale. Since then, their data is located in Europe.

Disadvantages
Projects can be managed in different ways. Not all possibilities are as complex with SeaTable as with Jira, for example.

Conclusion: Project management tools in human resource management

Project managementtools can simplify the work of human resource management and make it more efficient. Routine tasks are standardised. An overview of complex projects can be maintained. It is also worthwhile to consider rather untypical tools.

You have to weigh up how big your company is and what project sizes have to be expected due to the number of employees. Is a simple project management tool enough, do employees need to familiarise themselves with a complex variant or does a tool like SeaTable meet all requirements?

Feel free to test your use cases in our free version. Click here to register.

Image source Cover image: © Tada Images/Adobe Stock

Avatar photo
Christoph Dyllick-Brenzinger
Christoph is the founder and technical managing director of SeaTable GmbH. He is responsible for all internal IT at SeaTable and loves new and exciting challenges. In his free time, he enjoys playing tennis, exploring foreign cities with his family or playing the occasional computer game.

Smartphone Display mit verschiedenen Projekt Management Tools.

So kann ein Projektmanagement-Tool Ihr Team im Personalmanagement unterstützen

Wofür benötigen Sie ein Projektmanagement-Tool für HR? Das Personalmanagement besteht längst nicht mehr nur aus sich wiederholenden, klar abgesteckten Aufgaben. Bereiche wie das Bewerbermanagement oder die Personalentwicklung fordern neue Prozesse, Optimierungen und Änderungen. In Form von kurz- oder meist langfristigen Projekten werden diese Ziele verfolgt. Lesen Sie, wie ein einfaches Projektmanagement-Tool Ihre Personal-Abteilung dabei entlasten kann.

Personalmanagement: Besonderheiten und tägliche Aufgaben

Beginnen wir mit einem Blick auf die Besonderheiten des Personalmanagements.

Zu den Aufgaben im Personalmanagement gehören:

  • Personalplanung
  • Personalbeschaffung
  • Personaleinsatz
  • Entgeltmanagement
  • Personalcontrolling
  • Personalentwicklung

Es umfasst sämtliche Tätigkeiten, die mit der Planung, Entwicklung, Verwaltung und Führung von Personal zu tun haben. Hinzu kommen neben alltäglichen organisatorischen Aufgaben auch langfristige Projekte, oft in Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Fachabteilungen.

Projekte im Personalmanagement

Ein Projektmanagement-Tool wird daher nötig, um den Überblick zu behalten und die Projekte, egal wie komplex, effizient zu managen. Doch wie kann ein Programm die HR-Abteilung entlasten?

Wie kann ein Projektmanagement-Tool das Personalmanagement unterstützen?

Eine der wichtigsten Aufgaben der HR ist das Bewerbermanagement. Hierzu gehören vielfältige Themen vom Branding des Unternehmens über Kampagnen und Stellenanzeigen, die Koordination mit den Fachabteilungen bis hin zu Assessment-Centern und der Einstellung oder Absage. Auch ein firmeneinheitlicher Onboarding-Prozess kann Aufgabe der Personalabteilung sein.

Ein Projektmanagement-Tool hilft dabei, all diese Prozesse zu standardisieren. Es ermöglicht, die Daten strukturiert zu verarbeiten und im Blick zu behalten.

Weitere Projekte können die Personalentwicklung betreffen. Was soll getan werden, um einzelne oder Gruppen von Mitarbeitern zu schulen und zu fördern? Im Projektmanagement-Tool setzen Sie Meilensteine und kontrollieren den Fortschritt des Projekts.

Ebenfalls wird eine Zusammenarbeit in abteilungsübergreifenden Teams leichter möglich. Beispiel Bewerberprozess: Hier ist eine reibungslose Zusammenarbeit besonders wichtig. Während HR eher für die organisatorischen Aufgaben und die Kommunikation mit den Bewerbern zuständig ist, müssen die einzelnen Abteilungen bewerten, wie die fachliche Qualifikation ist und ob der Kandidat gut ins Team passt. Ein Tool bietet jedem Beteiligten den Überblick über alle Aspekte und das Fortschreiten des Auswahlprozesses.

Wie ein solches Tool für die HR aussehen könnte und worauf Sie achten sollten, lesen Sie jetzt.

Worauf sollten Sie bei der Wahl des richtigen Projektmanagement-Tools achten?

Ein zentraler Punkt im Personalmanagement ist der Datenschutz. Das Projektmanagement-Tool sollte daher Funktionen anbieten, die verschiedene oder gefilterte Ansichten auf Daten ermöglichen. Für EU-Unternehmen müssen Richtlinien wie die DSGVO erfüllt werden. Ihre Daten sollten auf Servern in der EU gespeichert sein.

Ferner können Projekte der Personalabteilung schnell komplex werden, da sie viele Personen betreffen und über einen langen Zeitraum reichen. Ihr Projektmanagement-Tool muss in diesem Fall Aufgabenbeziehungen und Zeitleisten abbilden können.

Zuletzt ist eine einfache Einarbeitung wichtig. Die Personaler sind keine hauptberuflichen Projektmanager, sie müssen eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Aufgaben erfüllen. Ein neues Projektmanagement-Tool sollte daher einfach zu bedienen sein.

Schauen wir uns im Folgenden sechs bekannte Projektmanagement-Programme im Vergleich an.

Was sind die Vor- und Nachteile der unterschiedlichen Projektmanagement-Tools?

Im Folgenden stellen wir Ihnen sechs Programme vor, die Ihre HR-Abteilung entlasten können. Beginnen wir direkt mit dem ersten Projektmanagement-Tool.

#1 Airtable – Mehr als Excel?

Das Projektmanagement-Tool Airtable wirbt mit Tabellenkalkulationen und Ansichten wie bei Excel. Zusätzlich hängt im Hintergrund jedoch eine Datenbank und Kanban-Boards sind möglich. Das macht es schlussendlich für das Projektmanagement, auch im Personalwesen, interessant.

Projekt Management Tool Airtable auf Suchseite des Laptops.

Projekt Management Tool © monticellllo / adobe stock

Vorteile
Die Vorteile von Airtable sind die flexible Benutzeroberfläche und verschiedene Filter, die das Strukturieren von Daten vereinfachen.

Nachteile
Eine projektübergreifende Übersicht ist nicht möglich. Für größere und komplexe Projekte eignet es sich daher weniger. Die Daten werden auf Servern in den USA gehostet, was den Einsatz für das Personalmanagement erschwert.

Kommen wir als zweites zu einem Projektmanagement-Tool, das sowohl privat als auch von Unternehmen gerne für die Aufgabenverwaltung verwendet wird: Trello.

#2 Trello – Projektmanagement mit Kanban-Boards.

Trello ist die bekannte Listen-Lösung im Kanban-Stil. Auf Boards können verschiedene Karten hin und her geschoben werden.

Vorteile
Dieses einfache Projektmanagement-Tool eignet sich besonders für ein übersichtliches Aufgabenmanagement.

Nachteile
Beziehungen zwischen Aufgaben können nicht dargestellt werden. Zeitleisten sind ebenfalls nicht möglich. Das Programm wird außerdem auf einer AWS (Amazon Web Service)-Plattform in den USA betrieben, was den datengeschützten Einsatz in Europa verhindert.

Lassen Sie uns jetzt über ein Projektmanagement-Tool sprechen, das von vielen als Erweiterung zu Trello gesehen wird:

#3 Asana – Kanban-Boards und mehr

Asana unterstützt ebenfalls die Kanban-Projektmethode. Hier können Sie jedoch noch zusätzliche Funktionen umsetzen.

Asana Projekt Management Tool als App auf dem Smartphone.

Projekt Management Tool © Tada Images / adobe stock

Vorteile
Unter den zusätzlichen Funktionen sind zum Beispiel eine Timeline und ein Portfolio. Beide helfen dabei, mehrere Initiativen gleichzeitig zu verwalten. Asana eignet sich daher besser für komplexere Projekte als Trello. Das vorhandene Aufgabenabhängigkeits-System bedeutet ebenfalls einen großen Vorteil für das Personalmanagement. Zuletzt gilt es zu erwähnen, das Asana EU-Rechenzentren als Speicherort anbietet.

Nachteile
Der Nachteil von Asana ist, dass die zusätzliche Komplexität einen höheren Einarbeitungsaufwand mit sich zieht.

Wo wir bereits über Komplexität sprechen, lassen Sie uns einen Blick auf das Urgestein der Projektmanagement-Tools werfen.

#4 Jira – Das umfangreiche Projektmanagement-Tool

Jira gehört zu den meistverwendeten Projektmanagement-Programmen. Es wird außerdem von vielen Unternehmen für die Fehlerverwaltung verwendet.

Vorteile
Bei diesem Tool planen Sie mit Kanban, Scrum, Gantt-Diagramm oder To-Do-Listen (Tabellen sind nicht möglich). Eine umfassende Aufgabenverwaltung und Meilensteine sind ebenfalls vorhanden. Jira gehört zwar ebenso wie Trello zu Atlassian, hier können Sie jedoch wählen, wo Ihre Daten liegen sollen. Rechenzentren in Deutschland sind verfügbar.

Nachteile
Die Nachteile, Jira im Projektmanagement zu nutzen, liegen in der Komplexität des Programmes. Es wird schnell unhandlich und benötigt eine umfassende Einschulung der Mitarbeiter.

#5 ProofHub – Viele nützliche Funktionen für das Projektmanagement

ProofHub hilft Teams dabei Projekte zu organisieren, zu verfolgen und dabei auf einfache und flexible Weise an einem zentralen Ort zusammenzuarbeiten.

Vorteile
Ein klarer Vorteil ist die schnelle und einfache Einrichtung von ProofHub. Somit verlieren Sie und ihr Team keine Zeit und können sofort mit Ihren ersten Projekten starten. Zudem werden viele nützliche Funktionen und Werkzeuge, wie z. B. einen Task-Manager, eine Gantt-Chart-, Kalender- oder Notizfunktion geboten, um möglichst effizient im Team arbeiten zu können. Auch preislich gesehen ist ProofHub sehr angemessen. Bei der Projektmanagementsoftware wird zwischen zwei verschiedenen Versionen unterschieden, die sich anhand der Anzahl von Projekten und Speicherplatz unterscheiden. Hierbei wird lediglich eine monatliche Pauschale berechnet, unabhängig davon, wie viele Personen es nutzen.

Nachteile
An manchen Stellen könnte die Benutzeroberfläche etwas intuitiver sein. Zudem sind die Ladezeiten manchmal etwas langsam.

#6 SeaTable – Das eher untypische Projektmanagement-Tool

SeaTable bietet einen guten Kompromiss zwischen einer einfachen Bedienung und den abgedeckten Funktionen. Es funktioniert über flexible Spaltentypen und ermöglicht ein agiles Projektmanagement.

Vorteile
Das Programm bietet sowohl eine Aufgabenverwaltung mit Kanban-Board als auch eine Timeline inklusive Kalender. Es eignet sich für jede Art von Projekt bis hin zur Urlaubsplanung oder der Fehlerverwaltung. Private Ansichten auf Daten sind möglich. SeaTable ist außerdem von AWS zum Schweizer Anbieter Exoscale gewechselt. Ihre Daten liegen seitdem in Europa.

Nachteile
Projekte können auf verschiedene Arten und Weisen gemanaged werden. Nicht alle Möglichkeiten sind mit SeaTable so komplex wie mit zum Beispiel Jira umsetzbar.

Fazit: Projektmanagement-Tools im Personalmanagement

Projektmanagement Tools können die Arbeit im Personalmanagement vereinfachen und effizient gestalten. Routine-Aufgaben werden standardisiert. Über komplexe Projekte kann der Überblick behalten werden. Dabei lohnt es sich auch, eher untypische Tools zu berücksichtigen.

Sie müssen abwägen, wie groß Ihr Unternehmen ist und mit welchen Projektgrößen aufgrund der Mitarbeiterzahl gerechnet werden muss. Reicht ein einfaches Projektmanagement-Tool, müssen sich Mitarbeiter in eine komplexe Variante einarbeiten oder erfüllt ein Tool wie SeaTable alle Anforderungen?

Testen Sie gerne Ihre Anwendungsfälle in unserer kostenfreien Version. Zur Anmeldung gelangen Sie hier.

Bildquelle Titelbild: © Tada Images/Adobe Stock

Avatar photo
Christoph Dyllick-Brenzinger
Christoph ist Gründer und technischer Geschäftsführer der SeaTable GmbH. Er ist für die gesamte interne IT bei SeaTable verantwortlich und liebt neue und spannende Herausforderungen. In seiner Freizeit spielt er gerne Tennis, erkundet mit seiner Familie fremde Städte oder daddelt auch ab und zu auch mal das ein oder andere Computerspiel.